Lady Bison’s Ryan, Lady Tide’s Weber Chosen D-9 All-Stars

SHIPPENVILLE — Kane senior Ella Marconi and coach Dave Kiehl and Union freshman Dominika Logue are the major All American Awards & Engraving District 9 girls’ basketball award winners for the 2019 season announced by the web site last week.

(Clearfield senior Alayna Ryan was selected to the All-District 9 First Team while Curwensville senior Madi Weber was named to the second unit.)

Marconi is the District 9 Player of the Year, Logue is the Rookie of the Year, and Kiehl is the Chuck Daly Coach of the Year, an award presented for the first time by the Chuck Daly Foundation.

In addition to the major awards, thee All-District 9 teams were named.

Joining Marconi and Ryan on the first team are Olivia Boocks of Allegheny-Clarion Valley, Marcy Schindler of Brookville, Malliah Schreck of Cranberry, Taylor Newton of Elk County Catholic and Abby Gatesman of North Clarion.

On the second team with Weber are Allegheny-Clarion Valley’s Kylee Eaton, Johnsonburg’s Cassidy King, Kane’s Hannah Buhl and Punxsutawney’s Kate Horner and Sarah Weaver.

The third team consisted of Cami McNany of Allegheny-Clarion Valley, Morgan Johnson of Brookville, Kait Constantino of Clarion, Shae Black of Coudersport and Tara Hinderliter of Redbank Valley.

This is the 20th year of the postseason District 9 awards and the 19th they have been housed at (the first year, 2000, the awards were awarded by the Tri-County Sunday out of DuBois). All American Awards & Engraving has been the title sponsor of the awards for the last 11 years. is in its 19th year of covering athletics within the PIAA’s District 9. The independent media site, which became part of the EYT Media family of sites (,, in December 2015 is not affiliated with the PIAA or PIAA District 9 in any way.

NOTES – To be eligible for an award or all-district teams, a player must participate in at least 60 percent of her team’s total games. To be eligible for Rookie of the Year, a player must be either a freshman or a sophomore who saw limited or no time as a freshman.

Player of the Year: Ella Marconi, Senior, Kane

Marconi led Kane to its first-ever District 9 championship (Class 2A), its first-ever PIAA Playoff win and a spot in the PIAA Class 2A Quarterfinals by averaging 22.9 points, 12.0 rebounds, 4.2 blocks and 1.0 assist per game. She also had 22 steals and shot 64.9 percent (255 of 393) from the field and 71.0 percent (152 of 214) from the free throw line.

She scored 20 or more points 20 times and topping 25 13 times with a pair of 30-point contests while becoming Kane’s all-time leading scorer with 1,723 career points.

Rookie of the Year: Dominika Logue, Freshman, Union

Logue burst onto the scene and quickly became Union’s top players by averaging 13.4 points, 7.3 rebounds, 4.3 blocks, 3.2 steals and 3.0 assists per game.

In 22 contests, she scored 25 or more points three times, 20 or more points four times.

Chuck Daly Coach of the Year: Dave Kiehl, Kane

Kiehl led the Lady Wolves to the AML Title and then to their first-ever District 9 (Class 2A) title and an overall record of 25-4. It was Kane’s third straight appearance in the D9 title game.

Kane then won the first PIAA playoff game in school history to reach the PIAA Quarterfinals where it lost to eventual PIAA Class 2A runner-up West Middlesex.

All-District 9 First Team

Olivia Boocks, Sr., A-C Valley (12.9 ppg, 5.3 rpg, 4.5 apg, 4.3 spg)

Marcy Schindler, Jr., Brookville (12.5 ppg, 9.2 rpg, 2.4 spg, 1.9 bpg)

Alayna Ryan, Sr., Clearfield (20.5 ppg, 6.3 rpg, 5.8 spg, 3.8 apg, 9 blocked shots; Finished her career with 1,165 points)

Malliah Schreck, Sr., Cranberry (18.8 ppg, 14.0 rpg, 3.0 spg, 1.5 apg, 21 blocked shots; Finished her career with 1,366 points)

Taylor Newton, Jr., Elk County Catholic (17.0 ppg, 10.5 rpg, 2.2 apg, 1.7 spg; Shot 48 percent from the field)

Ella Marconi, Sr., Kane (Player of the Year; 22.9 ppg, 12.0 rpg, 4.2 bpg, 1.0 apg, 22 steals; Shot 64.9 percent from the field; Shot 71.0 percent from the free-throw line; Finished her career with 1,723 points, the school’s all-time leading scorer)

Abby Gatesman, Jr., North Clarion (14.3 ppg, 8.7 rpg, 3.5 apg, 2.8 spg, 1.2 bpg; Shot 47.7 percent from the field; Shot 43.5 percent from 3-point range; Shot 76.4 percent from the free-throw line)

All-District 9 Second Team

Kylee Eaton, Sr., A-C Valley (11.7 ppg, 11.2 rpg, 1.6 spg, 1.5 rpg)

Madi Weber, Sr., Curwensville (20.9 ppg, 7.5 rpg, 3.3 spg; Finished her career with 1,309 points)

Cassidy King, Sr., Johnsonburg (15.3 ppg, 6.1 spg, 3.8 apg; Finished her career with 1,262 points)

Hannah Buhl, Sr., Kane (9.6 ppg, 6.1 spg, 2.5 to 1 assists-to-turnover ratio; Shot 40.1 percent from 3-point range while making 69 3-pointers)

Kate Horner, Sr., Punxsutawney (9.9 ppg, 3.0 apg, 2.5 spg, 2.0 rpg; Hit 40 3-pointers)

Sarah Weaver, So., Punxsutawney (10.1 ppg, 3.2 rpg, 3.0 apg, 2.5 spg, Hit 27 3-pointers)


Cami McNany, Sr., A-C Valley (12.3 ppg, 5.8 rpg, 3.6 apg, 2.3 spg)

Morgan Johnson, Jr., Brookville (13.4 ppg, 2.7 apg, 2.4 spg; Hit 39 3-pointers while shooting 36.1 percent from 3-point range; Shot 42.3 percent from the field)

Kait Constantino, Jr., Clarion (12.9 ppg, 5.0 rpg, 2.9 spg, 1.5 apg)

Shae Black, Sr., Coudersport (14.0 ppg, 7.0 rpg, 2.1 spg, 1.5 bpg, 1.1 apg; Shot 53.9 percent from the field)

Tara Hinderliter, Jr., Redbank Valley (18.2 ppg, 9.8 rpg, 6.6 spg; Hit 41 3-pointers)

Lady Bison Game at P-O Moved to Saturday
Bison's Walker, Rumsky Named to All-District 9 Teams

Leave a Reply