Bison’s Walker Selected for All-ML First Team

TYRONE — Clearfield Area High School junior Cade Walker was selected to the first unit of the underclassmen-dominated 2018-19 Mountain Boys Basketball League All-Star Team announced at the annual winter sports banquet in the Tyrone Area High School Monday night.

His inside presence was one of the keys to the District 9 Class AAAA champion Bison’s offense as he reached double figures in 22 of 23 games to total 416 points, which tied for ninth in District 9.

The 6-3 Bison, whose seven rebounds per game were tops for the 13-11 team, averaged 18.1 points, which was No. 12 in the district.

In 13 league games, Walker scored 232 points for a 16.8 average.

Nick Rigby of league kingpin Huntingdon earned Most Valuable Player honors in voting by the head coaches. The 6-3 senior was a first-team selection last year.

Bald Eagle Area’s Jaden Jones, a 5-8 junior, is a repeater on the first unit, which includes 6-2 sophomore Damon Gripp of Tyrone, 6-5 junior Jackson Ritchey of Huntingdon and 6-2 junior Braden Kitt of Central.

The lone senior on the second team is 6-2 Noah Muthler of Central.

He is joined by 6-6 sophomore Ryan Whitehead of Philipsburg-Osceola, 6-2 junior Ben McCartney of Bellefonte, 6-2 junior Logan Snyder of Penns Valley and 6-2 junior Nick Gearhart of Huntingdon.

Snyder was on the first team last year.

The final standings:

Huntingdon 14-0, Central 10-4, Tyrone 9-5, Bellefonte 8-6, Penns Valley 7-7, Clearfield 6-8, Bald Eagle Area 2-12, Philipsburg-Osceola 0-14.

Campus Corner: Claire Mikesell Is NCAA D-II First Team All-American; Paige Mikesell Earns Honorable Mention
Lady Bison's Ryan Accorded All-ML First Team Laurels

Leave a Reply