Spencer Gets Re-Elected to Prothonotary Office; Glass Defeats Peachman in Magisterial District Judge Race

Brian K. Spencer (Provided photo)

CLEARFIELD – Tuesday was the 2017 municipal election in Clearfield County, and the total voter turn-out was 30.63 percent. The county has 45,992 registered voters and 14,088 ballots were cast in the 70 precincts.  

Absentee ballots are included in these results. However, all results are unofficial until certified by the Clearfield County Board of Elections. Results do not show total write-in votes, which will be available to the public at a later date.

The race for prothonotary and clerk of courts topped the election, and current Prothonotary and Clerk of Courts Brian K. Spencer, R, won his bid for re-election to a second term.

Spencer defeated his Democratic opponent, Curtis Campman, by 797 votes. Spencer received 6,970 votes while Campman had 6,173 votes.

In a Facebook post Tuesday night, Spencer said, “I am humbled and honored that the voters of Clearfield County trust me and chose me for another term.

“… I promise to do my best, [to] keep my office efficient and [to] continue to train my staff with new technology. I assure the public that they will receive the friendly and professional service.”

Controller Tom Adamson, R, won his bid to retain his office over Democratic opponent, Paula A. Miller. Adamson received 7,944 votes to Miller’s 5,090 votes.

Also, current Chief Deputy Michael B. Churner will take over the reins of the Clearfield County Sheriff’s Office. He received 12,416 votes and will replace Sheriff Wes Thurston, who chose not to seek re-election.

Lawrence Township Police Sgt. James Glass, R, won the race for Magisterial District Judge 46-3-04 over Jeffrey Peachman by 641 votes. Glass received 2,272 votes to Peachman’s 1,631 votes.

MDJ Candidate Mike Morris (46-3-02), R/D, was unopposed after winning both sides in May’s Primary Election. He received 2,957 votes and will leave the coroner’s office to replace current MDJ Richard Ireland.

“It is an honor to be given the opportunity to serve the citizens of District 46-3-02 as Magisterial District Judge,” Morris posted on his candidate Facebook page. “To each one of you, individually, and to all of you collectively, I send my deepest gratitude. Thank you.”

Current MDJs Patrick Ford (46-3-01), R/D, and Jerome Nevling (46-3-03), R/D, will retain their offices. Both Ford and Nevling were unopposed and received 3,102 and 2,360 votes, respectively.

Click here for complete Clearfield County Election results.

Major General Laurel J. Hummel to Speak at Clearfield Veterans Day Service
Police Stats Continue to Rise in Lawrence Township

Leave a Reply