Bison’s Zane Morgan Named All-Mountain League Catcher; IF Thayne Morgan, OF Hazel Selected for Second Team

TYRONE — A trio of Clearfield Area High School baseball players were chosen by the head coaches for the 2017 Mountain League All-Star Team with senior catcher Zane Morgan making the first team and senior second baseman Thayne Morgan and senior outfielder Tommy Hazel landing on the second team.

The Morgan twins are repeaters after being selected for the second unit last year.

Zane Morgan led the Bison in hitting during the regular season with a .391 average on a team-high 27 hits, including three doubles and one home run. The standout defensive backstop drove in 15 runs, tied his brother for the lead in runs scored with 19 and stole 11 bases in 12 attempts.

Thayne Morgan hit .314 with 21 safeties, six RBIs and 10 thefts without being caught.

Hazel was second in average at .362 and tied for second in hits with 21 as he produced a team-high 19 RBIs, four on sacrifice flies.

The Bison posted a winning record in the league at 8-6 and earned the No. 2 seed for the District 9 Class AAAA Playoffs with a 13-7 log.

The repeaters from the 2016 first unit are Central pitcher Jarrett Imler, Bellefonte first baseman Logan Mathieu and Central shortstop Alex Hoenstine, who is a rare three-timer as he also was selected as the designated hitter in 2015. Mathieu was the second-team DH that year.

Moving up from the second team are Bellefonte pitcher Adam Armstrong and Central second baseman Larry Corle.

Philipsburg-Osceola shortstop Logan Williamson was cited for the third time, making the second team for the second time to go with a first-team honor in 2015.

Mountain League final standings — Central 12-2, Huntingdon 9-5, Philipsburg-Osceola 8-5, Clearfield 8-6, Bellefonte 8-6, Penns Valley 4-9, Bald Eagle Area 4-10, Tyrone 1-11.

2017 All-Mountain League First Team

Pitchers – Brett Imler, Central, and Adam Armstrong, Bellefonte.
Catcher – Zane Morgan, Clearfield.
First Baseman – Logan Mathieu, Bellefonte.
Second Base – Larry Corle, Central.
Shortstop – Alex Hoenstine, Central.
Third Base – Josh McKnight, Central.
Outfielders – Chase Smith, Central; Hunter Liebal, Central, and Keith Butts, Penns Valley.
Designated Hitter – Luke Snyder, Penns Valley.

2017 All-Mountain League Second Team

Pitchers – Cam Domblisky, Philipsburg-Osceola, and Jared Showalter, Huntingdon.
Catcher – Alex Mykut, Huntingdon.
Second Baseman – Thayne Morgan, Clearfield.
Shortstops – Nick Holesa, Huntingdon, and Logan Williamson, Philipsburg-Osceola.
Third Baseman – Tyler Kreger, Bellefonte.
Outfielders – CJ Funk, Bellefonte; Tommy Hazel, Clearfield, and Nick Zanic, Huntingdon.
Designated Hitter – Landon McDonald, Philipsburg-Osceola.

Bison Come From Behind To Pull Out 8-7 Win Over Chucks in 10-inning District 9 Class AAAA Semifinal Nail-Biter
Lady Bison's Cline Repeats as All-ML First-Team Shortstop

Leave a Reply