Lady Tide’s Dixon on All-AML Team for Second Year

AML all-star Hannah Dixon of Curwensville

RIDGWAY — Curwensville Area High School senior Hannah Dixon was named to the Allegheny Mountain Girls Basketball League All-Star team for the second year in a row in voting announced by league president Aaron Straub of Elk County Catholic at the annual banquet in Aiello’s Café Monday night.

The 5-4 guard, one of nine repeaters from the 2015-2016 All-AML Team, averaged 17.7 points against league opponents for the Lady Tide, who finished 2-8 in the South Division.

Dixon’s highlight games were 32 points against Sheffield and 24 against Elk County Catholic.

The standout playmaker capped her career with 437 points, including 48 three-pointers, for a career 83-game total of 1,056 that is No. 3 all-time in the Curwensville girls record book.

Ridgway junior Emily Fullem, a 6-0 center who averaged a double-double in points and rebounds, was the top vote-getter.

Receiving All-AML honors for the third year were 5-5 senior Riley Assalone of DuBois Central Catholic and 5-11 junior Trinity Clark of Kane.

Selected for the second time were 5-5 senior Jordy Frank of DuBois Central Catholic, 5-7 junior Leah Lindemuth of Brockway, 5-3 senior Nicole Myers and 5-8 sophomore Cassidy King of Johnsonburg, 5-11 senior Reilly Herzing of Elk County Catholic and 6-1 sophomore Ella Marconi of Kane. Myers was named to the 2014-2015 team.

Elk County Catholic’s Cassidy Cunningham, a 5-6 senior, is the other all-star.

The final standings:

South Division – DuBois Central Catholic 8-2, Ridgway 5-5, Brockway 4-6, Curwensville 2-8.
North Division – Elk County Catholic 8-2, Kane 8-2, Johnsonburg 5-5, Sheffield 0-10.
Championship Game – Elk County Catholic 40, Kane 34.

* * * * *

Elk County Catholic’s Nate DaCanal, a 6-2 senior, was the top vote-getter in his third consecutive year on the Allegheny Mountain Boys Basketball League All-Star Team.

Selected by the coaches for the second time were 6-0 senior Gabe Kraus of Elk County Catholic, 6-2 senior Ryan Kilhoffer of Johnsonburg and 6-7 senior Andrew Bucheit of Kane.

Rounding out the 2016-17 team are 6-2 senior Jarrett Esposito and 5-10 junior Carter Adams of Brockway, 6-2 senior Dan Stauffer of Elk County Catholic and 6-3 senior Justin Kasmierski, 6-1 junior Neil MacDonald and 6-2 junior Andy Breier of Ridgway.

The final standings:

South Division – Ridgway 9-1, Brockway 6-4, Curwensville 2-8, DuBois Central Catholic 1-9.
North Division – Elk County Catholic 10-0, Kane 6-4, Johnsonburg 5-5, Sheffield 1-9.
Championship Game – Elk County Catholic 59, Ridgway 44.

Bison Game Postponed for Third Time
Lady Bison Game Rained Out

Leave a Reply