Center Announces Art Show Winners

(Provided photo)

(Provided photo)

CLEARFIELD – The Susquehanna River Art Center (SRAC) has announced the winners in the Clearfield Area Junior-Senior High School Art Show being held at the Joseph & Elizabeth Shaw Public Library.

Pictured, from left to right, are Gloria Rowles, SRAC treasurer, Patricia Simon, judge of the show and Dottie Crissman of SRAC.  They are holding the top award winners of this year’s CAJSHS Art Show.

Forty-nine students from the ninth through twelfth grades entered 94 pieces of art that were judged April 11 by Simon.  Simon was impressed with the quality of the artwork and wished she could have handed out more first place awards.

Danielle McCain’s piece, “Reese Finch-Person of Interest,” was awarded the Best in Show. First place was awarded to “American White Shepherd” by Kristy Turner, second place to “Get Me Out” by Bina Carfley-Bickel, third place to “Louder than Words” by Jena Soult and fourth place to “European Deer Skull” by Tiara Coudriet.

Jurors’ awards were given to Kyler Hudson, Vanessa Goodrow, River Williams, Megan McCain, Rachel Duke, Matt Ebeling, Tessa Waring, Shiane Dunlap, Casen Zitzelberger and Lauren Butler.  Honorable Mention awards were given to Chesney Boal, Meghan Hale, Denise Stephens, Brianna Casher, Jessica McDaniel, Amanda Williams and Kirstin Norman.

SRAC is especially thankful to art teachers Rose Nowak and Leann Adams for their encouragement of the students to enter this show and for their help in preparing the artwork for hanging and transporting to the library.

The show will be open for viewing during the hours of the library through May 21. Guests are invited to come and enjoy this art show featuring high school artists from the CAJSHS.

Guests are encouraged to sign the guestbook and add comments.  A reception will be held on May 21 from 6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. with prizes being awarded at 7 p.m.  Refreshments will be available.

PA Military Order of the Purple Heart Honors Fallen Teen Firefighter
Loeb Earns Eisenhower Award for Distinguished Teaching

Leave a Reply