LHU Clearfield Conducts Pinning Ceremony for Graduating Nurses

(Provided photo)

(Provided photo)

CLEARFIELD – The Lock Haven University Nursing Program conducted its traditional “Pinning Ceremony” on May 7 at the Clearfield Middle School Auditorium, Clearfield.

There were 56 men and women who graduated with an Associate of Science degree in nursing and 10 individuals who graduated with the Bachelor of Science in nursing degree.

Participants in the ceremony included: Masters of Ceremony, Joy DuGan, nursing department faculty;  Kim Owens, chair of the nursing department, who gave the opening prayer; Ann Beardsley, nursing faculty, guest speaker; and Pam Finalle who conducted the pinning ceremony.

Graduates were “pinned” by a significant person in their lives and someone who was supportive during their nursing education. The traditional “Lighting of Candles” and “Nightingale Pledge” were again a part of the ceremony, and Bridget Conklin explained their significance as such, “Florence Nightingale, nursing founder, set roots for nurses and those traditions are still carried through into today’s modern nursing profession.”

Darlene Ardary, nursing faculty, performed a poem reading, “Today is the Day.” After Therese Sayers, nursing faculty, introduced the Class of 2014, the ceremony ended with a closing prayer by DuGan.  Music was provided by pianist, Judith J. Bungo.

The 56 ASN students who graduated are: Sandra Andrus of Lock Haven; Ellen Askey of Pennsylvania Furnace; Jakob Attig of Seven Valleys; John Bacher IV of Madera; Rachel Balangitan of DuBois; Donna Bell of Osceola Mills; Christopher Bird of State College; Elizabeth Canner of Philipsburg; Carla Caprio of Bellefonte; David Chirico of DuBois; Alise Christie of DuBois; Elizabeth Clark of Clearfield; Alyssa Clingan of Emporium; Miriah Coddington of Clearfield; Tiana Crabb of Bellefonte; Sheri Davis of Howard; Morgan Deibler of Bellefonte; Jocelyne Dinger of Brookville; Ashlee Emigh of Philipsburg; Alyssa Fink of Philipsburg; Brittany Flango of Philipsburg; Crystal Foust of Snow Shoe; Heather Greene of Tipton; Tasha Hess of Clearfield; Anne Hoover of Snow Shoe; Lori Horne of Falls Creek; Cassandra Klaiber of St Mary’s; Kerri Korus of Bellefonte; Crystal Kosut of Philipsburg; Alicia Lewis of Punxsutawney; DaNelle Lucas of Bellefonte; Joseph Matis Jr. of Bellefonte; Sarah McElwee of Sykesville; Alexis McMahon of Ramey; Jenna Miller of Houtzdale; Jennifer Milliron of DuBois; Danielle Moore of Clearfield; Jordan Puit of Woodland; Chelsey Records of Clearfield; Andrea Rhodes of DuBois; Danielle Roche of Abbottstown; Chelsea Royer of Howard; Colette Sample of Lanse; Kylie Schultz of Clearfield; Kelsey Shaw of West Decatur; Sarah Siverling of Penfield; Roderick Skelley of Altoona; Autumn Smith of West Decatur; Christine Smith of Summerville; Andrew Stoker of DuBois; Jessica Thorpe of State College; Brennan Tomedi of Howard; Jill Wayland of Philipsburg; Sarah White of State College; Shannon Woodling of Woodland; and Heather Yarger of Clearfield.

The 10 BSN students who graduated are: Alice Crock of Howard; Kylee Dyke of Philipsburg; Jennifer Grape of Punxsutawney; Melissa Harmon of Falls Creek; Barbara Hutton of Curwensville; Heather Kovalick of Woodland; Donna Overman of Indiana, Pa.; Sarah Snyder of DuBois; Brittany Veltri of Brockport; and Bethany Westrick of Patton.

Kimberly Owens presented the award for “Highest Academic Achievement” to Sarah White of State College. She graduated with a 4.0 grade point average with the most credits earned from Lock Haven University.  A celebration reception was held before the ceremony for graduates and their guests.  The Graduation Ceremony was held on May 10 at the Lock Haven University Main Campus.

CNB’s Kunes Receives Honor Student Recognition
Summer Celebration Planned for August

Leave a Reply