America’s Motorsports Park Results – July 20, 2013

Press release by Terry Whetstone 

McMillen and Brown New AMP Winners
CLEARFIELD – Bob McMillen of St. Mary’s picked up his career first Randy Sterling Trucking Saturday night at America’s Motorsports Park in Clearfield, as once again Jeff Taylor and team battled Mother Nature, and came out with the win. Tony Brown also picked his career first AMP Harter and Son’s Garage Street Stock feature.
Repeat winner included: John Eckenrod of Ebensburg in the Denny’s Beer Barrel Pub Semi Lates, Hunter McCracken of Curwensville in the Quigley’s Pub Pure Stocks and Eric Boozel of Mt. Union in the Clearfield County Metal Four Cylinders.
The Late Models were led to the green with Dan Gill and Roswell Babcock on the front row, with Gill leading the field into the first turn, but he went high allowing Denny Fenton to take the lead out of the second turn. Fenton led the first six laps before he looped the car in the second turn, handing the lead over to Justin Kanouff. On lap eight, a turn four pile-up slowed the action, forcing Luke Hoffner, Greg Kent, Tom Merryman, Dan Boyd and Travis Brady either to the rear or to the pits. Kanouff took off on the restart with Bob McMillen in hot pursuit with Luke Hoffner, Bill Davis, Randy Sterling and Gill still battling for the top spot. As the race went on, McMillen was not about to give up, as he challenged Kanouff on every turn to try and get the lead, then on lap 18, Kanouff got high and McMillen was right there to take advantage of the miscue, as Davis moved by with three laps to go as McMillen went on to get the win. At the line, the top five were: McMillen, Davis, Kanouff, Gill and Duane Stiner. The heats were won by Stiner and McMillen.
Randy Sterling and Chad Desmett led the Semi Lates to the start with Sterling leading the first laps, before John Eckenrod took the lead and pulled Jake Shady with him. Once out front, Eckenrod had to hold off Shady, Denny Fenton and Sterling as they were pulling away from the rest of the field. As Allen Luzier waved the double checkered flags, it was Eckenrod getting his second win of the season with Shady, Fenton, Sterling and Dylan Fenton completing the top five. Shady won the heat.
The Street Stocks were brought to the green flag with Ray Billott and Tony Brown on the front row, with Brown taking the lead and Tim Fannin following him into second and Jamie Price moved into third. As the race wore on, Johnny Lindenpitz and Dan Smeal moved in to battle for the lead, but this was Brown’s race to win as he picked up his first career AMP win. Fannin held on to second with Smeal, Lindenpitz and Price completing the top five. Doug Tibbens and Price won the heats.
Hunter McCracken beat Jon Lee off the front row to start the Pure Stock feature, with Eric Lucas second and Lee third. Ben Krause and Lee were fighting for fourth as fifth place starter Marshall Detwiler moved into the battle and Detwiler was headed to the front. Detwiler made a move around Lucas on lap eight and tried to reel in McCracken, but he ran out of time as McCracken went on to win his fourth feature of the season. Detwiler, Lee, Lucas and Mike Bailey completed the top five. McCracken and Lee won the preliminary events.
Aaron Luzier and Eric Boozel led the four cylinders to the green flag, with Luzier leading lap one, then Boozel took the lead and was being chased by Darrin Thompson, but Thompson lost power and pitted on lap six, leaving Boozel to cruise to his second win of the season. Stephanie Lucas was second, Stephanie Ivory was third, Jesse Laughard was fourth and Bryan Warren was fifth. The Stephanies, Lucas and Ivory, won the heats.
PIT NOTES: There were a total of 62 cars in the pits, including 16 Late Models, 7 Semi Lates, 12 Street Stocks, 12 Pure Stocks and 15 Four Cylinders…Coming up on Saturday is another regular AMPed up show with the Late Models, Semi Lates, Street Stocks, Pure Stocks and Four Cylinders, Plus PA Vintage Dirt Modifieds. Gates open at 3 with racing beginning at 6:30 p.m. For more details check the website at

Randy Sterling Trucking Late Models: 1. Bob McMillen, St. Mary’s; 2. Bill Davis; 3. Justin Kanouff; 4. Dan Gill; 5. Duane Stiner; 6. Randy Sterling; 7. Luke Hoffner; 8. John Brady; 9. Travis Brady; 10. Marvin Williams; 11. Eric Irvine; 12. Roswell Babcock; 13. Denny Fenton; 14. Greg Kent; 15. Tom Merryman; 16. Dan Boyd.

Denny’s Beer Barrel Pub Semi Lates: 1. John Eckenrod, Ebensburg; 2. Jake Shady; 3. Denny Fenton; 4. Randy Sterling; 5. Dylan Fenton; 6. Chad Desmett; 7. Neal Wilson.

Harter and Son’s Garage Street Stocks: 1. Tony Brown; 2. Tim Fannin; 3. Dan Smeal; 4. Johnny Lindenpitz; 5. Jamie Price; 6. Bill Phillips, Jr.; 7. Ray Billotte; 8. Doug Tibbens; 9. Curtis Teats; 10. Dustin Challingsworth; 11. Ron Mertz; 12. Chad Rougeux.

Quigley’s Pub Pure Stocks: 1. Hunter McCracken, Curwensville; 2. Marshall Detwiler; 3. Jon Lee; 4. Eric Lucas; 5. George Bailey; 6. Cody Hummel; 7. Jim Challingsworth; 8. Daniel Stiver; 9. Andrew Frey; 10. Ben Krause; 11. Colton Joiner; 12. Cregan Brady (DNS).

Clearfield County Metals Front Wheel Drive 4 Cylinders: 1. Eric Boozel, Mt. Union; 2. Stephanie Lucas; 3. Stephanie Ivory; 4. Jesse Laughard; 5. Bryan Warren; 6. Aaron Luzier; 7. Paul Ivory; 8. Eric Luzier; 9. David Helsel; 10. Corrin Monoskey; 11. Darrin Thompson; 12. Dustin Kemp; 13. Joshua Henry; 14. Spencer Smeal; 15. Valerie Brady.

Parks Pit Report: Run To The Title Begins, Contenders Already Clear
America's Motorsports Park Results - July 13, 2013

Leave a Reply