Honor Society Inducts New Members

By Steve Harmic, Penn State DuBois

DUBOIS – The Delta Mu Sigma Honor Society at Penn State DuBois inducted its new members for the spring 2013 semester at the society’s induction luncheon on Monday.  The new inductees join the ranks of nearly 150 honor society members on campus.   

In order to qualify for membership students must maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or above and be involved in campus or community service.

Chancellor Melanie Hatch addressed the new inductees, congratulating them.  She said, “Today, we recognize that you have exceeded our expectations.  Many of you have other responsibilities outside of school.  You have families, jobs, athletics, or charitable work, yet you have been able to manage these demands while remaining focused on your educational goals.” 

“We would like to congratulate you for achieving your academic success and being inducted into one of the most prestigious and oldest of honors societies at Penn State University,” Delta Mu Sigma Board Chairman Adam Snyder told his fellow students. “We are not just and honors society; we are also a community service organization which helps many people around our campus and community.  It is our hope that you will become involved with our various campus events.” 

Delta Mu Sigma reaches out to DuBois and the surrounding area by offering community service such as a “Dine Out” event at Luigi’s Restaurant, with part of the proceeds benefiting scholarship funds.  Members have volunteered with organizations like Habitat for Humanity, and organize a haunted house on campus each Halloween and donate proceeds to local charities. 

(Provided photo)

Pictured are new honor society members with the Delta Mu Sigma board, advisors, and the chancellor.

In the front row, from left, are: Amanda Horner, Kelly Lewis, Jordan Fairman, Raymond Gascon Jr., Nicholas Moore, Austin Sheibley, Howard Hartzfeld Jr. and Tyler Heeter.

In the back row, from left, are: Judith Davidson-Yablinisky, William Berry, Tammy Heckendorn, Patience McCullough, Linsey Mizic, Adam Snyder, Delta Mu chair; Ellen Gardner, Jocelyn Marzella, event planner; Jessica Reirdon, social media officer; Rebecca Horner, treasurer; PJ Monella, communications director; Taylor Neal, public relations director; Zack Thayer, co-chair; Emily Callender, secretary.

“A Little Night Music” Kicks Off Reitz Season
Thompson Issues Statement on President’s State of the Union Address

Leave a Reply