Mother Nature Plays Part in Back to Back Action at Hummingbird

Reynoldsville-For the first time all season there was racing back to back weeks at Hummingbird Speedway, but Mother Nature would still have a big part in racing action once again.

The Prontock Beer Distributors RWD Four Cylinders put on a great show. Paul Metz Sr. started on the pole with Bob Ralston Jr. on the outside of the front row. Metz would lead the first two laps before Alan Barnett took over the top spot. A big lap four crash on the front stretch took out Metz, Bill McMillen Sr. and last weeks winner Bill Washeck. Barnett continued to lead until a caution flew on lap 14. That set up a green, white, checker finish. Barnett would hold the lead after the green until the final corner. Barnett almost spun coming through four and Orin Taylor was able to sneak inside and won the race by three quarters of a car length. Barnett was second followed by Don Henry, Adam Nixon, and Nick Erskine.

Heat Winners: Adam Nixon, Bill McMillenSr., Snuffy Smith

1. 21T Orin Taylor, DuBois
2. 71 Alan Barnett, Philipsburg
3. 68 Don Henry, Brockway
4. 47 Adam Nixon, Grampian
5. 3 Nick Erskine, Bells Landing
6. 20 George Bailey, Clearfield
7. 77R Bob Ralston Jr., Philipsburg
8. 34 Joe Malobicky Jr., St. Marys
9. 55 Brandon Weidow, Byrnedale
10. 57 Tim Bailey, Morrisdale
11. 28 Scott Overbay, Reynoldsville
12. 60 Scott Smith, Woodland
13. 17 Randy Albert, Morrisdale
14. 11 Bill Washek, Clearfield
15. 76 Mike Anderson, State College
16. 51 Bill McMillen Sr., St Marys
17. 14 Paul Metz Sr., Jillian
18. 18 Bobby Battaglia, Reynoldsville

New daddy Dominic Surra led the Street Stocks to the green flag with Dan Smeal on the out side of the front row. These two would battle throughout the race. Surra led the first half of the race and Smeal led the last half. Both drivers applied heavy pressure all race long. Bob Rosum and Gary Little Had a nice Battle for third and fourth. Fuzzy Fields started last after he broke in the heats, but managed to climb all the way back to fifth.

Heat Winners: Bob Rosum, Dan Smeal

1. 44 Dan Smeal, Houtzdale
2. T3 Dominic Surra, Kersey
3. 48R Bob Rosman, Sykesville
4. 2 Gary Little, Clearfield
5. 28 Fuzzy Fields, Brockport
6. A1 Dennis Asel, Kane
7. M21 Bill Huntington, Big Run
8. M1 Jeff Mease, Clearfield
9. 37 Joe Kot, DuBois
10. 14 Ron Mitchell, Ridgway
11. 47 Mike Miller, DuBois
12. 7 Neil Wilson Jr., Clearfield
13. 8R Tom Slack, DuBois
14. 37A Jim Bloom, Curwensville
15. 11G Dan Gill, Clearfield

Rain drops started falling just as the Brookville Wood Products BWP Bats Late Models rolled on to the track. After a few laps under caution the green would finally wave for the pole sitter John Brady with Rich Wolmerdorf to his right. Brday held the lead through 3 laps when Eric Moore took over. A caution flew on lap 9 as the second place car of Jason Witherite got tangled up in turn 2 with the lapped machine of Chuck Kennedy. With the rain still falling Moore led two more green flag laps before Dwayne Brooks broke and stopped in turn 1. The rain picked up and racing was stopped for the evening. Racing will resume right where we left off next Saturday at 7:00

Milesburg\'s Greene Twins Leave Clearfield 11-12 All-stars Feeling Blue
Clearfield YMCA Summer Basketball Scores & League Standing - 6/29

Leave a Reply