Repeat Winners Shine at Dog Hollow

STRONGSTOWN, PA – Five drivers repeated on Brush Valley Tire Trophy night at Dog Hollow Speedway while the speedway defeated Mother Nature. The repeat winners included “The Coalport Comet” Shawn “Sheets” McGarvey of Coalport in the Townsend Gas and Oil Late Models, Tom Snyder of Mayport in the Stoystown Auto Wreckers Fastrak Late Models, Jim Boyer of Indiana in the Jeff Dick Home Sales Street Stocks, Rich Powell of Cherry Tree in the Brush Valley Tire Pure Stocks and Jason Bialowas of Ruffsdale in the Texas Auto Ranch Four Cylinder Sidewinders.

The late models hit the speedway with Shawn McGarvey and Jim Kerpackus with McGarvey taking the lead and Kerpackus in second. A crash at the start sent Dave Day to the pits for the night.

The restart was again McGarvey taking the lead with Kerpackus still second and Rick Strong third. While they were jockeying for position “Hot Rod” Rodney Phillips was coming from 14th and headed to the front. He was steadily working his way to the front while Kerpackus was applying all the pressure on McGarvey he could handle, but the Coalport Comet held off the advances and took his third win of the season. Kerpackus, Strong, Phillips and Randy Smithley completed the top five. Shawn McGarvey and Billy Dickson won the preliminaries.

Tommy Snyder and Kirby Tucker Sr. led the Fastrak late models to the start with Snyder taking the lead and holding off Tucker the whole way, who did a great job with second, but he also had to hold off the advances from Justin Kann. The crowd also watched Dan Angelicchio as he started sixth ad dropped to seventh at the start but then began to work his way towards the front, but at the line it was all Snyder for his third win of the year over Tucker, Kann, Angelicchio and Roger Laughlin. Heat wins went to Roger Laughlin and Tom Snyder.

The street stock feature was a tussle from the start with Tyler Hite beating John Kinsey to the first turn at the drop of the green, but fourth place starter Jim Boyer came up to steal the lead away on lap two.

After he took the lead then Kinsey came back to fight with Hite for second and on a lap four restart Kinsey jumped the gun and went from third to the lead. He set the pace for two laps before Boyer was able to get back into the lead dropping Kinsey to second when another caution waved, forcing Kinsey to be docked two positions for his earlier jump.

When the action resumed it was all Boyer holding off Hite for his second straight win. Hite, Kinsey, Ray Charles and Denny Keener completed the top five. Heat wins went to Denny Keener and John Kinsey.

In the pure stock feature Rich Powell and Justin Queen led the field to the start with Powell taking the lead with Marshall Detwiler, John Mazey and Queen were the top four then Tim Good entered the picture and the top five were pulling away, until Queen bobbled in the corner and Good slipped by for fourth, but Queen recovered and made it a five car race again, with Powell now getting heavy pressure from Detwiler, but no one had what was needed to work the outside line and Powell held on for the win. Detwiler, Mazey, Good and Queen completed the top five. Heat wins went to Rich Powell and Marshall Detwiler.

The four cylinder feature saw Cory Kilgore and Tom Pavelko on the front row with Kilgore taking the lead and setting the pace. As he was leading Jason Bialowas was third behind Pavelko, who was sitting in second and on lap six Bialowas took second and two laps later he was leading the event. When the checkered flag flew it was all Bialowas with Kilgore second, but he was disqualified in a post race tech. Second then went to Brennan McCracken, with Bob Pease, Chris Hickok, David Rocker and Pavelko completing the topf five. Heat wins went to Ray Hickok Jr., Tom Pavelko and Randy Wilkinson while Paul Crynonk III won the B main.

Dog Tracks: 94 teams filled the pits including 17 late models, 11 Fastrak late models, 16 street stocks, 18 pure stocks and 32 four cylinders…coming up this week is the COY’S STORE & PIZZA SHOP FASTRAK NORTHEAST RACING SERIES SHOW (check out FASTRAK’s website at plus a regular show for the late models, street stocks, pure stocks and four cylinders…The mechanics race was won by Doug Detwiler over Bernie Whetstone and Brian Daughenbaugh…David Masterine Jr. flipped off the third and four turns during the four cylinder feature, he wasn’t hurt.


Townsend Gas and Oil Late Models: 1. Shawn McGarvey, Coalport; 2.Jim Kerpackus, Freepoprt; 3. Rick Strong, Home; 4. Rod Phillips; 5. Randy Smithley, Somerset; 6. Billy Dickson; 7. Billy Eash, Johnstown; 8. Bernie Whiteford, Hastings; 9. Sam Gindlesperger, Johnstown; 10. Bill Krause, Somerset; 11. Rudy Bassaro, Heilwood; 12. Terry Rayko, Atwood; 13. Dave Day, Colver; 14. Chris Rhodes, Windber; DNS: T.J. Fleck, Tim Snare, Jr, Jimmy Whiteford

Stoystown Auto Wreckers Fastrak Late Models: 1. Tommy Snyder, Mayport; 2. Kirby Tucker, Loretto; 3. Justin Kann, Huntingdon; 4. Dan Anelicchio, Greensburg; 5. Roger Laughlin, MvVeytown; 6. Gary Stahl, Johnstown; 7. Ron Smithley, Irwin; 8. Greek; 9. Joe Zulisky, Latrobe; 10. Chris Angelicchio, Greensburg; 11. John Eckenrod, Ebensburg

Jeff Dick Home Sales Street Stocks: 1. Jim Boyer, Indiana; 2. Tyler Hite, Duncansville; 3. John Kinsey, Greensburg; 4. Ray Charles, Chickaree Mountain; 5. Denny Keener; 6. Randy Campbell, Hollidaysburg; 7. Eric Irvin, Petersburg; 8. Brad Campbell, Hollidaysburg; 9. Charlie Trice, Ruffsdale; 10. Matt Hugill, New Washington

Brush Valley Tire Pure Stocks: 1. Rich Powell, Cherry Tree; 2. Marshall Detwiler, Roaring Spring; 3. John Mazey, Bolivar; 4. Tim Good, Vintondale; 5. Justin Queen, Irvona; 6. Dave Wells Jr.; 7. Bobby Noel, Johnstown; 8. Nathan Good, Vintondale; 9. Mike Silk; 10. Bob Helsel, Coalport

Texas Auto Ranch Four Cylinder Sidewinders: 1. Jason Bialowas, Ruffsdale; 2. Brennan McCracken; 3. Bob Pease; 4. Chris Hickok, Commodore; 5. David Rocker, Revloc; 6. Tom Pavelko, Cherry Tree; 7. Matt Weakland; 8. Randy Wilkinson; 9. Scott Shirk; 10. Adam Laughard, Twin Rocks

Pataky Bows Out After Leading in Both Bouts in Olympic Freestyle Wrestling Team Trials
Chiefs Defeat Haymakers 9-5 in JCL Legion Action

Leave a Reply