Central Penn League All-stars Announced

LEWISTOWN – Players from seven schools were named to the 2008 Central Penn Baseball League All-Star First Team announced this week by Lewistown athletic director Richard Keefer, the outgoing secretary-treasurer.
Head coaches of the 12 teams nominated players from their own teams and then selected 31 all-stars.
Champion Lewistown had the most first teamers in junior second baseman Nick Beamenderfer, senior shortstop Elliot Searer and junior outfielder Casey Zimmerman.
Punxsutawney and Williamsport each had two players make the first team.
Punxsy senior Christian Muth was received enough votes to be the choice at third base and also tie Searer at shortstop. Chuck sophomore Tyler Wingard got the nod as the designated hitter.
Catcher Jon Steele and outfielder Bob Donato, both seniors, were the Williamsport standouts to be honored.
Rounding out the first team are junior first baseman A.J. Robinson of Bald Eagle Area, senior outfielder Ken Farnsworth of State College and senior pitchers Patrick Smith of Hollidaysburg and Anthony Houser of Central Mountain.
Second-team selections were senior pitchers Muth of Punxsy and Mike Seewald of Williamsport, senior catcher Josh Wensel of Bellefonte, junior first baseman Joe Smith of State College, junior second basemen Scott Class of State College and Aaron Kovach of Hollidaysburg, senior shortstop Mike Krider of State College, junior third baseman Will Pryor of State College, senior outfielders Mark Ayoub of State College and Alex Haines of Lewistown, junior outfielders Joe Pillot of Bald Eagle Area and Tyler Sell of Hollidaysburg, sophomore outfielder Braedon Pennington of Punxsutawney and junior designated hitter Jose Texidor of State College.
Honorable mention went to senior pitchers Justin Koleno of Bald Eagle Area and Sean Heckert of Lewistown, senior catcher Derek Coppersmith of Hollidaysburg; first baseman Pennington of Punxsy, sophomore second baseman Matt Fisher of Bellefonte, senior shortstop Matt Curtis of Philipsburg-Osceola, third baseman Kovach of Hollidaysburg, senior outfielder J.D. Mason of Philipsburg-Osceola, junior outfielder Matt Taylor of Hollidaysburg and designated hitter Smith of Hollidaysburg.
Clearfield, DuBois and Altoona did not have any players make the list.
Final PIAA Baseball Playoff Scoreboard
Taylor, Pataky Fix Eyes on Beijing

Leave a Reply