Strong Dedicates Dog Hollow Win to Late Father


STRONGSTOWN, PA – Rick Strong of Home was racing with a heavy heart after losing his father just about a month ago, as he dedicated his Townsend Gas and Oil Late Model feature win to him on Friday night at Dog Hollow Speedway on Charlsons Furniture of Northern Cambria trophy night.

Justin Kann of Hesston won his first ever Stoystown Auto Wreckers Fastrak Late Models feature while Scott Stein of Cherry Tree won the Jeff Dick Home sales Street Stock main and it was Tim Good of Vintondale winning the Brush Valley Tire Pure Stock feature.

Only Merle Billotte of Cherry Tree repeated, as he won the Texas Auto Ranch Four Cylinder Sidewinders feature while subbing for Brennan McCracken.

Jeff Weakland and Rick Strong led the 18 car late model feature to the start with Strong taking the lead and holding a commanding lead over the field. His closest challenge was from Shawn “Sheets” McGarvey on the restarts, in the mean time, McGarvey had to hold off the challenges from Doug Glessner and Darrell Dick.

While the battle was heated at the front of the field, fans were watching Randy Smithley heading towards the front, as he started the race 16th and was in the top five at the finish. The win went to Strong over McGarvey, Dick, Glessner and Smithley. Heat wins went to Rick Strong and Darrell Dick.

The Fastrak Late Model field is continuing to grow, and this week it was10 cars strong with Dan Angelicchio taking the lead at the start and leading the first lap, then Justin Kann came from third and took the lead with an inside turn two pass of Angelicchio. Once he was in the lead, he didn’t let anyone take it away from him. As Angelicchio held on to second and the race neared its conclusion, he had to content with his brother, Chris, who was coming was fifth and finished third. Tommy Snyder was fourth and Dave Padula was fifth. Jeff Enos won the heat race.

Scott Stein was lined up along side of Ray Charles to start the street stock feature and when the green waved it was Stein taking the lead and never looking back. Nick Goss moved to second and tried to reel in Stein, and he pulled within striking distance, but Stien held him off to get the win, while John Kinsey was coming from 12th, but when the checkered flag waved it was Stein first, Goss second, Kinsey third, Mike Laughard fourth and Charles fifth. Heat wins went to John Kinsey and Nick Goss.

In pure stock action it was Rich Powell taking the lead from fellow front row starter Tim Good but he only left for two laps before third place starter Marshall Detwiler took the lead with a three wide pass of Powell and Good entering the third turn. The race was Detwilers for a few laps before Good went to the inside of Detwiler in the second turn and made the pass. The top five, including Good, Detwiler, Powell, John Mazey and Tim Laughard were racing under the proverbial blanket for much of the race. When Robert Sullinger threw the checkered flag it was Good taking the win with Mazey going to the outside on the final lap and taking second with Detwiler, Powell and Laughard completing the top five. Heat wins went to Tom Good and Rich Powell.

“Big Daddy” Dan Adams led the four cylinder feature for seven laps, swerving in and out of lapped traffic and sitting through a few cautions, but on lap eight Merle Billotte took the lead from Adams in the Brennan McCracken #17M and ended up winning the event. Adams, Matt Weakland, Paul Crynock III and David Rocker completed the top five. Heat wins went to Dan Adams, Ray Hickok Jr. and Paul Crynock III. The B Main went to Ryan Claycomb.

DOG TRACKS: 92 cars filled the pits, including 18 late models, 10 Fastrak Late Models, 14 street stocks, 17 pure stocks and 33 four cylinders…Coming up this week is a regular show for the late models, Fastrak late models, street stocks, pure stocks and four cylinders, plus kids bike races. Helmets are mandatory…Coming up on June 20 is the first of two Fastrak late models specials, check out www.fastrakracing .com. For more information on Dog Hollow Speedway check the website at



Townsend Gas and Oil Late Models: 1. Rick Strong, Home; 2. Shawn McGarvey; 3. Darrell Dick; 4. Doug Glessner; 5. Randy Smithley; 6. Ben Satterlee; 7. Jeff Weakland; 8. Scott Alvetro; 9. Dan Lee; 10. Cory Wilson; 11. Sam Gindlesperger; 12. Bill Krause; 13. Jim Ivory; 14. Rudy Bassaro; 15. Todd Bates; 16. T.J. Fleck; 17. Andrew Satterlee; 18. Mark Booth.


 Stoystown Auto Wreckers Fastrak Late Models: 1. Justin Kann, Hesston; 2. Dan Angelicchio; 3. Chris Angelicchio; 4. Tommy Snyder; 5. Dave Padula; 6. Gary Stahl; 7. Ron Smithley; 8. Jeff Enos; 9. John Eckenrod; 10. Kirby Tucker.


Jeff Dick Home Sales Street Stocks: 1. Scott Stein, Cherry Tree; 2. Nick Goss; 3. John Kinsey; 4. Mike Laughard; 5. Ray Charles; 6. Tyler Hite; 7. Cory Poraczky; 8. Brad Campbell; 9. Kyle McFarland; 10. Charlie Field Jr.


Brush Valley Tire Purestocks: 1. Tim Good, Vintondale; 2. John Mazey; 3. Marshall Detwiler; 4. Rich Powell; 5. Tim Laughard; 6. Jeremy Shaffer; 7. Justin Queen; 8. Derek Stiffler; 9. Brad Butterworth; 10. Nathan Good


Texas Auto Ranch Four Cylinder Sidewinders: 1. Brennan McCracken; 2. Dan Adams; 3. Matt Weakland; 4. Paul Crynock III; 5. David Rocker; 6. Paul Little; 7. Jesse Laughard; 8. Mark Maglet; 9. Mike Phillipson; 10. Jeremy Merten

Taylor Qualifies for 2008 Olympic Greco-Roman Team Trials With Bronze Medal in Nationals
Curve Classic Check Presentation

Leave a Reply