Central PA Speedway Announces O’Reilly ALLSTAR Circuit of Champions Sprint Car Event as Part of 2008 Schedule

CLEARFIELD, PA –In what will be one of the Biggest Racing Events This Year in Pennsylvania – the Nationally Acclaimed O’Reilly ALLSTAR Sprint Car Series will visit the Central PA Speedway Wednesday Night, June 11th.

“This is something I think all the fans have wanted to see for a long time in our area – Big Time Sprint Cars,” said track owner Tim Bainey. “These guys are great to watch, they run all across the country, have a huge following, and I really think it will be one of the best shows the fans in our region have ever seen.”

The ALLSTAR Event will be the first ever for any major national sprint car series in the track’s storied history.

The O’Rielly Series is packed with some of the Biggest Names in Sprint Car Racing Today. Current Points Leader Lance Dewease is no stranger to anyone familiar with the Sprint Car World, others like Dale Blaney, Fred Rahmer, Randy Hannagan, Brian Paulus, Brock Mayes, Brian Ellenberger, Bob Felmlee, Greg Wilson, and Sam Hafertepe Jr. are sure to join in for a spectacular show.

Keep up with all the latest news and info by visiting the track website at www.thebigtrack.com.

About the ALLSTAR Sprint Car Series

The Cars

Sprint cars are alcohol-burning, open wheel race cars weighing about 1200 pounds, with engines putting out 850 horsepower. They are the fastest accelerating closed course race cars running today, due to their high power-to-weight ratio. The All Stars race on quarter to half-mile oval dirt tracks, where 130 mile per hour wheel-to-wheel and four-wheel-drift excitement keeps fans on the edge of their seats.

The 25-square foot aluminum \”wing\” above the roll cage improves aerodynamics and provides an additional safety factor, plus gives a high visibility surface for sponsor logos.

The Circuit

The All Star Circuit is one of the premier sprint car sanctioning bodies in the United States of America.

Now in their 29th year of operation, the All Stars take pride in their reputation of providing highly competitive, fair, exciting racing for outlaw sprint cars with many different winners in a season.

The \”outlaw racer\” designation goes back to the 1930\’s when any driver not belonging to a particular racing club was considered an \”outlaw.\” Today, membership is not necessary to participate in All Star events and to receive prize money. However, a membership is available for those car owners and drivers that want to earn points, be eligible for the drivers\’ benevolent fund, receive travel money, special cash or products and numerous other benefits.

About 400 drivers participate in All Star races yearly in front of an average of 5,000 spectators per event. Races are typically scheduled in Florida, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Indiana, Michigan, Tennessee, Nebraska, Wisconsin, Illinois, and Kansas. The schedule is flexible to include other states and Canada as well.

The typical All Star race program consists of time trials, qualifying heat races, a Dash and C, B and A Main events, determined by the number of cars signed in for an event. Usually a $25,700 purse is posted, paying $5,000 to win, but over the season, several $6,000, $7,000 and $10,000-to-win special events are held.

Prize money adds up to $1.5 million in a season. Over $200,000 cash is paid out by point fund sponsors to those drivers and owners who finish highest in the point standings, with an additional $100,000 worth of contingency prizes provided by many supporting companies.

You can visit the Series Online at www.allstarsprint.com.

Curwensville - Harmony Baseball Game Postponed
Area Lifters Compete at 29th Annual Power Day

Leave a Reply