LHU Founder’s Day Packs Room

CLEARFIELD – “Tonight is a celebration of student achievement,” said Dawn Datt, director of the Clearfield campus of Lock Haven University.

On Thursday night, students, family, school officials and others packed the student lounge of the Lock Haven University’s Clearfield campus for the 18th Founder’s Day awards ceremony. There were 19 scholarships with 38 awards combined with a few students receiving multiple awards.

Datt began the ceremony followed by Dr. Keith T. Miller, president of the Lock Haven University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Robert M. Myers, professor and chair of the English department, was the featured speaker.

“We have much to teach you here, but never lose your own genius,” said Myers.

In his speech, Myers focused on the fact that main point of college is to learn to learn for yourself and maintaining that ability throughout one’s college career. Myers also mentioned he would like to have Lock Haven University focus more on environmental issues.

After all the awards were given out and everyone seated again, Dr. Roger Johnson, provost, took to the podium and announced that the surgical technology program had received national accreditation after their graduation rate reached that on par with other national programs.

“Accreditation for a program takes momentous effort,” said Johnson, adding that it might even be tougher than graduating college.

Anne McGinnis was presented the plaque for the accreditation.

Awards are listed below as follows: Award, presenter and recipient. 

Kenneth M. Gearhart Memorial Scholarship – Lisa Kline, scholarship committee Kiwanis Club – Peggy Sue Graham

Academic Achievement/Clinical Growth Award – Therese Sayers, chair of the nursing department – Gretchen Gray.

Robert Mullen Family Scholarship – Valerie Dixon, assistant director/admissions – Melissa Elensky and Krista Round.

Verna Swisher Memorial Scholarship – Traci Robison – Linda Lucas

Maria A. Hernandez de Luciano Memorial Scholarship – Helen Hummel, Emeritus, Clearfield Campus – John W. Gonzalex Jr.

Hummel Scholarship in Surgical Technology – Helen Hummel – Molly C. Rebar

Ron Jury Memorial Scholarship – Dawn Datt – Carlene Pizzella

Mona Mangan Memorial Scholarship – Therese Sayers – Dennis Bressler

Connie Lodico-Boyce Memorial Scholarship – Melanie Paul-Cook – David Anderson Jr.

Academic Excellence Award – Dr. Clay Kleckley, professor, Academic Development & Counseling, Clearfield Campus – Mary E. French, John W. Gonzalez, Jr, Andrew Holes, Deedra Lee Moyer, Paula R. Williams and Jaime L. Quick.

Alumni Scholarship Clearfield County/Philipsburg Area Chapter of the Lock Haven Alumni Association and Friends– Karen Krice, president – Robert Zabinski, Jr.

Krise Education Scholarship – Karen Krise – Nichole S. Larson

Robert B. Kanour Memorial Scholarship – Charlotte Kanour – Kayeloni Dillon

Clearfield Area Health Services Scholarship – David McConnell, CEO, Clearfield Hospital – Kayeloni Dillon, Kari Finalle, Matthew Golemboski, Diane Heath, Kristin O’Donnell and Alisha Slothen.

Kurtz Bros. Scholarship – Jim Carns, Kurtz Bros. – Jeffery Englemannt, Angela Muth, John Prestash and Amber Sperfslage.

Julie Rile Hale Memorial Scholarship – Melanie Paul-Cook in place of Ms. Marie Little – Peggy Sue Graham and Stephani Reitz

Clearfield Bank & Trust Scholarship – Judy Mitchell, chief operating officer – Julie Kanouff, Laura Sherick and Tina Wills

Judith Peale-Stratton Memorial Scholarship – Charles Johnston, president, Clearfield Education Foundation – Melissa Millward, Jaime Quick and Robert Zabinski, Jr.

Woodward Pharmacy and City Drugs Educational Scholarship – Maureen Gathagan – Elsie Harchak and Amy Sue London

Reload: Week of Sept. 17, 2007
PennDOT Encourages Motorists to Drive with Extra Caution in Foggy Conditions

Leave a Reply