Hoffner, Rhed, and Kohler Take Opening Night Mick Orsich Memorial Wins

Reynoldsville—The first night of the 3rd annual Mick Orsich Memorial races were run Saturday evening at Hummingbird Speedway with Luke Hoffner of Turbotville, Brian Rhed of Brockport, and Dave Kohler of DuBois taking home the top honors.

The 35-lap BWP Bats limited late model feature highlighted the racing action this evening, and by virtue of winning the Community First Bank dash for cash, Hoffner was on the pole with Cody Schultz along side of him. Hoffner got the jump on the field at the opening green with Shultz and Rick Strong running side by side for second. The races first caution flew on lap 5 when Schultz and Strong made contact in turn 2. Schultz continued with Strong retiring for the night. After two more minor cautions, Hoffner and Chuck Kennedy pulled away from the field with a pair of side by side battled behind them for the next four positions. Hoffner held the advantage midway into the race with Kennedy, Eric Moore, Dave Shagla, Jr., and Bobby Stokes rounding out the top five. The races final caution flew on lap 25 when John Chesnalavich, Jr. looped his car around in turn 4. Hoffner pulled away with five laps to go as Moore and Shagla hooked up in a good battle for third. But in the end it was all the “Turbotville Tornado” as he went on to take his seventh win of the season at the speedway. Hoffner, Strong and Chris Farrell won the heats.

The 15-lap Miller Brothers Furniture/By The Room Furniture pure stocks had Rhed and Bruce Hartzfeld leading the field to the green flag. Rhed got the early lead with Hartzfeld and J.R. Ziegler battling close for second. The caution flew on lap 3 when Gary Hepler crashed hard into the front stretch fence. Hepler was uninjured in the incident. Rhed took command on the restart and held a comfortable advantage at the midway mark with Hartzfeld, Ziegler, Jeff Krach, and Archie Hynd completing the top five. Rhed continued to add to his lead as Hartzfeld and Ziegler battled for second. Rhed went on to capture his speedway leading eighth victory. Rhed won the lone heat.
Steven Bouch and Kohler led the field of front wheel drive four-cylinders trackside for their 12-lap main. Kohler took the early lead with Shawn Fedder, Bouch, and Todd English battling for second. Kohler maintained the lead at the midway mark with Bouch, English, Fedder, and Ben Smith keeping things close. After two late cautions, Kohler was able to stretch out his lead as he went on to claim his third win of the year. Kohler, Bouch, Smith, and Mike Calhoun won the heats.


BWP Bats Limited Late Models: 1. Luke Hoffner, Turbotville; 2. Chuck Kennedy, Brockway; 3. Eric Moore, Frenchville; 4. Dave Shagla, Jr., Sugar Grove; 5. Bobby Stokes, Milton; 6. Chris Farrell, Clearfield; 7. George Fultz, Beech Creek; 8. Cody Schultz, Hyde; 9. Rich Womeldorf, Apollo; 10. John Chesnalavich, Jr., Reynoldsville; 11. Donnie Connor, Reynoldsville; 12. Bruce Raybuck, Falls Creek; 13. Tim Fedder, Millerstown; 14. Levi Ardery, West Decatur; 15. Bob Hoffman, Renfrew; 16. Josh Young, Berwick; 17. Bill Davis, DuBois; 18. John Brady, Clearfield; 19. Rick Strong, Home; 20. Billy Eash, Johnstown DNS: Bob McMillen, Denny Fenton, & Burton Fingado

Community First Bank Dash For Cash: 1. Hoffner; 2. Schultz; 3. Strong; 4. Kennedy; 5. Farrell; 6. Ardery

Lap Leader: Hoffner 1-35

Miller Brothers Furniture/By The Room Furniture Pure Stocks: 1. Brian Rhed, Brockport; 2. Bruce Hartzfeld, Stump Creek; 3. JR Ziegler, Oil City; 4. Jeff Krach, Falls Creek; 5. Archie Hynd, Osceola Mills; 6. Steve Barnes, Punxsutawney; 7. Josh Lewis, Houtzdale; 8. Sam McClellan, Clearfield; 9. Gary Hepler, Kersey; 10. Kyle Beimel, St. Marys DNS: Dustin Rogers

Front Wheel Drive Four-Cylinders: 1. Dave Kohler, DuBois; 2. Shawn Fedder, Clearfield; 3. Steven Bouch, Reynoldsville; 4. Ben Smith, Penfield; 5. Jody Frantz, Punxsutawney; 6. Mike Calhoun, Falls Creek; 7. Tyler Simcox, Winburne; 8. Brittany Bouch, Reynoldsville; 9. Eric McCall, Grampian; 10. Mark McMillen, Brockway; 11. Mike Guthrie, Brookville; 12. Stephanie Mansell, Centre Hall; 13. Tony DeBoey, DuBois; 14. Eric Wingard, Big Run; 15. Amber Brown, Punxsutawney; 16. Joe Nelson, DuBois; 17. Mike Hummel, Clearfield; 18. Glenn Robinson, DuBois; 19. Todd English, Clearfield; 20. Todd Ostrofsky, Munson; 21. Cory Silvis, Brookville; 22. Chuck White, DuBois

Clearfield Goes 1-2 in Labor Day Wood Bat Tourney
Bisons Clip Eagles 20-14 in Season Opener

Leave a Reply