Bolette Lone New Winner at Dog Hollow

STRONGSTOWN, PA – Texas Auto Ranch Four Cylinder Sidewinder driver Merle Bolette of Cherry Tree was the only new driver to grace victory lane on Coy’s Store trophy night at Dog Hollow Speedway Friday night.

Repeat winners included Clate Copeman of Greensburg in the Townsend Gas and Oil Late Models; Paul Michny of Clymer in the Stoystown Auto Wreckers Fastrak Late Models; Josh Jacoby of Fernwood in the Hugill Sales and Service Street Stocks and John Mazey of Bolivar in the Brush Valley Tire Pure Stocks.

Clate Copeman and Mike Ziner led the late models to the start and Copeman took the lead like a shot out of a cannon. He was pulling away from the field as Ziner sat second. On lap three it was Sam Gindlesperger in second before Bernie Whiteford took second on lap four. Once he was second he needed a caution to try and catch Copeman.

Copeman was setting a torrid pace when the second caution flew on lap 11. A second lap 11 caution flew with Kris Pisarchik nearly flipping the #22P on the backstretch. He wasn’t hurt. When the race resumed it was still the Copeman show, but Whiteford was on his tail and closing, he was trying to reel in the leader the best he could, but Copeman maintained the lead and took the win. The top five were Copeman, Whiteford, Randy Smithley from 12th; Billy Eash and Ryan Jacoby from 10th. Heat wins went to Clate Copeman and Sam Gindlesperger.

Ron Smithley and Kirby Tucker led the Fastrak Late Models to the start as Smithley took the lead. He set the pace for three laps before Paul Michny took the lead on lap four. Once out front Michney had to fend off challenges from first Smithley, who battled back, then from Dave Padula. At the waving on Bob Sullinger’s checkered flag it was all Michny taking the win. Padula was second, Smithley was third, Chad Wilds was fourth and Chris Knuth was fifth. Dave Padula won the heat.

Denny Keener lined up beside Josh Jacoby to start the street stock feature, but it was Jacoby who took the lead. He was setting the pace when third place Mike Laughard moved to the second spot on lap three. The top two were hosting a heated battle, with the swapping of some paint ever now and then, but on lap 13 the racing got a little too close, as Laughard and Jacoby tangled with Jacoby spinning and Laughard being relegated to the rear. On the restart John Kinsey was now in second and Jeff Sweeney was third from 12th and together they pressured Jacoby for the win, but Jacoby denied them the win. The top five were Jacoby, Kinsey, Sweeney, Keener and Randy Campbell. Heat wins went to Jeff Sweeney and Mike Laughard.

In pure stock action Scott Lorenzo out ran Brian Daughenbaugh into the first turn and Lorenzo set the pace for the first four laps, with heavy pressure from John Mazey. Mazey was able to move to the outside and make it work. On lap five he went to the high side of the third and fourth turns and took the lead. Lorenzo battled back while trying to hold off Tim Laughard, Tim Good and Marshal Detwiler. When the race ended it was Mazey getting his third win of the season over Laughard, Lorenzo, Detwiler and Good. Heat wins went to John Mazey and Tim Laughard.

The wild and wooly four cylinder sidewinders saw Mark Maglett and Chris Yoder on the front row with Maglett taking the lead and Dan Adams in second, but by the second lap Merle Bolette was second from his sixth place starting spot. As the race continued, one lap later, it was Bolette now in the lead. He wasn’t alone at the front, as Maglett was still there, as was Adams, Virgil Small and Yoder. The top five were all over each other jockeying for position but it was Bolette who held the challengers off for his first win of the season. Adams came out second with Maglett, Small and Yoder completing the top five. Heat wins were divided between Dan Adams, Chris Yoder, Randy Wilkinson and Brennan McCracken.

DOG TRACKS: 88 cars filled the pits, including 18 late models, 6 Fastrak Late Models, 14 street stocks, 17 pure stocks and 33 four cylinders…coming up this Friday is the return of the McDonalds School Buses plus a regular show for the late models, Fastrak late models, street stocks, pure stocks and four cylinders…the racing will be presented by Bassaro’s Classic Car Restoration…Coming up on Aug. 31 is the Frank Mayak Memorial for the Fastrak Late Models. The race will pay the winner $1,200 and it will pay $125 to start. Mr. Mayak was the owner of Stoystown Auto Wreckers and an avid supporter of the racing at Dog Hollow Speedway. He passed away in 2005. More details and information is available at

Townsend Gas and Oil Late Models: 1. Clate Copeman, Greensburg; 2.Bernie Whiteford; 3. Randy Smithley; 4. Billy Eash; 5. Ryan Jacoby; 6. Bill Krause; 7. Mike Ziner; 8. Jim Ivory; 9. Rudy Bassaro; 10. John Jacoson; 11. Sam Gindlesperger; 12. Kris Pisarchik; 13. Shawn Barbus; 14. Todd Baumbargerdner; 15. Sam Stiffler; 16. Dan Lee; 17. Tim Snare Jr.; 18. Eddie Hugill.

Stoystown Auto Wreckers Fastrak Late Models: 1. Paul Michny, Clymer; 2. Dave Padula; 3. Ron Smithley; 4. Chad Wilds; 5. Chris Knuth; 6. Kirby Tucker.

Hugill Sales and Service Street Stocks: 1. Josh Jacoby, Fernwood; 2. John Kinsey; 3. Jeff Sweeney; 4. Denny Keener; 5. Randy Campbell; 6. Ray Charles; 7. Cory Poraczky; 8. Mike Laughard; 9. Brad Campbell; 10. Tyler Hite; 11. Mike Zemrose; 12. Royann Charles; 13. Todd Weiner; 14. Dennie Collins.

Brush Valley Tire Pure Stocks: 1. John Mazey, Bolivar; 2. Tim Laughard; 3. Scott Lorenzo; 4. Marshall Detwiler; 5. Tim Good; 6. John Eckenrod; 7. Matt Summers; 8. Rich Powell; 9. Justin Queen; 10. Gary Furman Jr.; 11. BobbyNoel; 12. Mike Sistki; 13. Brian Daughenbaugh; 14. Bob Helsel; 15. Alex Kirsch; 16. Brian Ray; 17. Jeff Jones.

Texas Auto Ranch Four Cylinders: 1. Merel Bolette, Cherry Tree; 2. Dan Adams; 3. Mark Maglett; 4. Virgil Small; 5. Chris Yoder; 6. Ray Hickok Jr., 7. Brennan McCracken; 8. Jason Bialowas; 9. Jay Schettini; 10. Scott Shirk; 11. Jon Forshey; 12. Matt Weakland; 13. Nathan Good; 14. Paul Little; 15. Chris Hickok; 16. Mike Phillipson; 17. TJ Powell; 18. Adam Laughard; 19. Martin Lechner; 20. Joe Petyak; 21. Mike
Lauffer; 22. Randy Wilkinson; 23. Tom Pavelko; 24. John Boring.

B-MAIN: 1. David Rocker; 2. Tom Ondro; 3. Ryan Claycomb; 4. Don Shirk; 5. Mark Young; 6. Tyler Laughard; 7. Jeremy Mertens; 8. Ron Laconte; 9. Steve Malick.

Hs Three New Winners in Victory Lane
BBG Wins OTSL Playoffs

Leave a Reply