Repeat Winners Find Dog Hollow Victory Lane

STRONGSTOWN, PA – Four drivers found the winners circle for the at least the second time this season at Dog Hollow Speedway on Nanty Glo Auto Parts Trophy night.

Those repeat winners include Clate Copeman of Greensburg in the Townsend Gas and Oil Late Models; Paul Michny of Clymer in the Stoystown Auto Wreckers Fastrak Late Models, Josh Jacoby of Fernwood in the Hugill Sales and Service Street Stocks and John Mazey of Bolivar in the Brush Valley Tire Pure Stocks.

The only new driver to work his way to victory lane was Virgil Small of Gypsy in the Texas Auto Ranch Four Cylinder Sidewinders.

Randy Smithley took the lead at the start of the late model feature with Clate Copeman in second and Andrew Satterlee third. As the field started working the second lap, Copeman looked to the low side of Smithley and pulled along side. The top two were then side-by-side on the back stretch and through the third and fourth turns. As the duo exited turn four Copeman slid up in front of the leader and took the top spot.

While he was setting the pace “Hot Rod” Rodney Phillips was moving to second and by the fourth lap he was second. A few late race cautions allowed Phillips to pull up behind Copeman and to try and take the lead on the restarts. Phillips was able to pull along side of Copeman for two laps after a restart, but Copeman was able to pull away each time. AS the race got closer to ending, Phillips was able to close on Copeman, but Copeman was too tough and was able to take the fourth win of the season. Phillips was second, Bernie Whiteford wah thrd, Tim Snare Jr. was fourgh and Billy Eash was fifth. Heat wins went to Clate Copeman, Bernie Whiteford and Tim Snare Jr.

Paul Michny started the Fastrak late model feature to the outside pole and continued to set the pace the whole race with the battle for second being the race to watch. As Michny led it was Ron Smithley, Chris Knuth, and Dave Padula who were swapping the position. When the final checkered flag flew it was all Michny taking the win with Smithley winning the battle for second. Padula, Tom Snyder and Dan Angelicchio completed the top five. Heat wins went to Paul Michny and JR Wright.

Like Michny in the Fastrak late models, Josh Jacoby in the street stocks led that feature from start to finish with second place being a great battle. As Jacoby led, and occasionally had to contend with Ray Charles for the lead, but Charles faltered some, and John Kinsey assumed second. The top five were often three wide as they jockeyed for position, but still it was Jacoby out and taking the win. Kinsey was second with Todd Weiner, Jeff Sweeney and Charles topping the top five. Heat wins went to Josh Jacoby and Ray Charles.

The pure stock feature was another wire-to-wire win this time for John Mazey. Mazey took the lead from fellow front row starter Rich Powell. Powell was second with Derek Stiffler in third and Brian Daughenbaugh in third. The race was halted by several cautions, but it was always Mazey setting the pace. Second was constantly changing hands, with Tim Good holding the spot after Powell had it, then Justin Queen was there for a brief stint before Marshall Detweiler took over the spot. At the finish it was Mazey taking his second win of the year over Detweiler, Tim Laughard, Scott Lorenzo and Joe Zulisky. Heat wins went to John Mazey, Tim Good and Rich Powell.

Dan Adams and Chris Yoder led the four cylinder sidewinders to the start and it was Adams taking the lead. He set the pace until a caution on lap four with Yoder a close second. On the restart Adams still led with Mark Faught coming to second and by lay six it was Faught in the lead.

Faught only led until lap seven when he pitted for the night. This gave the lead back to Adams who now had Virgil Small to contend with, but Small was determined and with only two laps to go Small took the lead and held off Adams for his first win of the season. Adams, Yoder, Jay Schettini and Mark Maglet rounded out the top five. Heat wins were split between Dan Adams, Scott Shirk ad Mark Faught.

DOG TRACKS: 101 cars filled the pits, including 20 late models, 11 Fastrak late models, 14 street stocks, 24 pure stocks and 32 four cylinders…Coming up this Friday is a regular show for the late models, Fastrak Late Models, street stocks, pure stocks and four cylinder sidewinders. There will also be a late model powder puff, sponsored by Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic…Coming up on Aug 31 is the Frank Mayak Memorial Race for the Fastrak Late Models. Check the Fastrak website at for more details…More Dog Hollow information is available at


Townsend Gas and Oil Late Models: 1. Clate Copeman, Greensburg; 2. Rodney Phillips; 3. Bernie Whiteford; 4. Tim Snare Jr.; 5. Billy Eash; 6. Jeff Henry; 7. Ryan Jacoby; 8. Rudy Bassaro; 9. Mike Ziner; 10. Bill Krause; 11. Randy Smithley; 12. Rance Garlock; 13. Terry Rayko; 14. John Jackson; 15. Ray Sgro; 16. Andrew Satterlee; 17. Jim Ivory; 18. Kris Pisarchik; DNS: Dan Lee and Sam Gindlesperger.

Stoystown Auto Wreckers Fastrak Late Models: 1. Paul Michny, Clymer; 2. Ron Smithley; 3. Dave Padula; 4. Tom Snyder; 5. Dan Angelicchio; 6. Chris Knuth; 7. JR Wright; 8. Kirby Tucker; 9. Floyd Kline; 10. Chris Angelicchio; 11. Brayan Hank.

Hugill Sales and Service Street Stocks: 1. Josh Jacoby, Fernwood; 2. John Kinsey; 3. Todd Weiner; 4. Jeff Sweeney; 5. Ray Charles; 6. Mike Laughard; 7. Randy Campbell; 8. Tyler Hite; 9. Cory Poraczky; 10. Mike Zemrose; 11. Mike Collins; 12. Royann Charles; 13. Jim Handyside, Jr.; 14. Dennis Collins.

Brush Valley Tire Pure Stocks: 1. John Mazey, Bolivar; 2. Marshall Detwiler; 3. Tim Laughard; 4. Scott Lorenzo; 5. Joe Zulisky; 6. Matt Summers; 7. Gary Furman Jr.; 8. Mike Silk; 9. Bobby Noel; 10. Alex Kirsch; 11. Brian Ray; 12. Jamie Cameron; 13. Justin Queen; 14. Tim Good; 15. John Eckenrod; 16. Derek Stiffler; 17. Bob Helsel; 18. Jeff jones; 19. Rich Powell; 20. Brian Daughenbaugh; 21. Nathan Howe; 22. Mike Sgro. DNS: Randy Jasper and Bill Horner.

Texas Auto Ranch Four Cylinder Sidewinders: 1. Virgil Small, Gypsy; 2. Dan Adams; 3. Chris Yoder; 4. Jay Schettini; 5. Mark Maglet; 6. Joe Petyak; 7. Paul Little; 8. Jon Forshey; 9. Joel Forshey; 10. Mike Phillipson; 11. Ray Hickok Jr.; 12. Chris Hickok; 13. David Rocker; 14. Tom Pevelko; 15. Martin Lechner; 16. Tyler Laughard; 17. Jason Shirk; 18. John Boring; 19. Adam Laughard; 20. Mark Young; 21. Brennan McCracken; 22. Shaina Shannon; 23. TJ Powell; 24. Mark Faught; 25. Randy Wilkinson; 26. Brittany Bouch; 27. Nathan Good; 28. Steve Nagle; 29. Ryan Claycomb; 30. Jesse Laughard. DNS: Jason Bialowas and Scott Shirk.

West Branch Student to Represent USA Youth Fly Fishing Team
Curwensville 15-16 Teeners Stay Alive With 13-5 Win Over P-O

Leave a Reply