Rhed Makes It Two In A Row At Hummingbird Speedway

Reynoldsville —Brain Rhed of Brockport made it two straight wins and became the first driver to have multiple victories Saturday evening at Hummingbird Speedway. Other drivers scoring their first wins at the track this season included Luke Hoffner of Turbotville, Gary Little of Clearfield, Cooter Wolfe of Kersey, and Dustin Fields of Brockport.
Bill McMillen and Wolfe led the field of IC Light Beer four-cylinders trackside for their 15-lap feature. McMillen grabbed the early lead with Wolfe, Don Henry, and Mike Anderson in close tow. Wolfe was working hard to get by McMillen when a caution flew on lap 7 as Jonnie Gould and Mike Lucas made contact on the front stretch. McMillen held the lead through the midway point, but on the next lap, Wolfe powered by McMillen on the outside for the lead. Late in the race, Wolfe was able to stretch out his lead as Alan Barnett, McMillen, and Mike Anderson hooked up in a good battle for second. Wolfe pulled away late to take his first win in a number of years. Anderson, George Bailey, and Don Henry won the heats.
Little and Tom Slack started on the front row of the 20-lap Prontock Beer Distributors street stock main. Slack led the first lap before the races only caution flag flew for debris. Slack and Little pulled away from the field on the restart and battled for the top spot for the next five laps as Little was able to get inside of Slack for the lead on lap 6. Little and Slack ran one-two at the midway point with Jamie Price, Nathan Russell, and Dan Smeal trying to close the gap. Little opened up a little bit of breathing room on Slack late with Russell getting by Price for third. In the end it was Little taking the win in front of Slack, Russell, Dan Smeal, and Price. Little and Fuzzy Fields copped the heat race wins.

The Brookville Wood Products limited late models were next on the racing surface with Hoffner and Bernie Whiteford showing the way to the green flag. Hoffner powered out to the early lead, and was lapping cars by lap 6. After a lap 7 caution, Hoffner again built up a sizable lead with Bob McMillen trying to close the gap. Hoffner was in complete control of the feature as McMillen and Eric Moore put on a great show for the fans as they ran for second place. Hoffner went on to take the win, as McMillen was able to hold on for a second place finish. McMillen and Moore won the heats.

Dave Airgood, Jr. and Jeff Krach led the field of Miller Brother Furniture/By The Room Furniture pure stocks trackside for their 15-lap main. Airgood led the first two laps, but lost the lead on the same lap as he and Pete Mackie spun in turn one. Jason Bainey inherited the lead, and led for four laps before giving way to Rhed on lap 7. Rhed was able to stretch his lead out late in the race as he went on to take the checkered flag. Mackie won the lone heat. Steve Ghezzi and Ben Smith were on the starting front row of the 12-lap front wheel drive four-cylinder feature. Ghezzi held the early lead with Smith giving chase. The field kept closely bunched together as a number of minor cautions slowed the race. Ghezzi led through the midway mark with Smith, Brittany Bouch, Chuck Erskine, and Fields completing the top five. Fields works his way towards the front and was running second by lap 8. Fields and Ghezzi ran side by side on lap 11 with Fields holding the lead at the white flag. Ghezzi fought back on the outside as he and Fields swapped paint coming out of turn four for the win. Both cars crossed the finish line side by side with Fields getting the win by mere inches over Ghezzi. The finish was one of, if not the closest in speedway history. Fields and Jessica Brooks won the heats.

SPEEDWAY NOTES: There were 84 cars in the pits this evening including 18 limited lates, 19 street stocks, 19 four-cylinders, 10 pure stocks, and 18 front wheel drive four-cylinders. Saturday will see another five-division program with gates opening at 4:30 pm with racing at 7. Also, bikes will given away to two lucky kids in attendance. For more information call the track office at 653-8400 or visit the track’s website at www.hummingbirdspeedway.com.

Results: Brookville Wood Products Limited Late Models: 1. Luke Hoffner, Turbotville; 2. Bob McMillen, St. Marys; 3. Dave Shagla, Jr., Sugar Grove; 4. Dwayne Brooks, Falls Creek; 5. Chris Farrell, Clearfield; 6. Donnie Connor, Reynoldsville; 7. Jeremy Miller, Linden; 8. Eric Moore, Frenchville; 9. Bruce Raybuck, Falls Creek; 10. Bob Smith, Reynoldsville; 11. Jim Rozum, Kennerdell; 12. Brian Molnar, Falls Creek; 13. Denny Fenton, Clearfield; 14. Loren Sallack, Johnsonburg; 15. Bernie Whiteford, Hastings; 16. Pete Alspaugh, Russell DNS: Rich Womeldorf & Jeremy Ohl Prontock Beer Distributors Street Stocks: 1. Gary Little, Clearfield; 2. Tom Slack, Sabula; 3. Nathan Russell, Curwensville; 4. Dan Smeal, Houtzdale; 5. Jamie Price, Clearfield; 6. Bill Huntington, Big Run; 7. Joe Kot, DuBois; 8. Lee Gunter, Winburne; 9. Bob Rosman, Sykesville; 10. Jim Bloom, Curwensville; 11. Toby Saline, Kersey; 12. Mike Miller, DuBois; 13. Pernell Beimel, St. Marys; 14. Lee Hummel, Philipsburg; 15. Fuzzy Fields, Brockport; 16. Neil Wilson, Jr., Clearfield; 17. Craig Bainey, Osceola Mills; 18. Tim Steis, St. Marys DNS: Kenny Abrahamson IC Light Four-Cylinders: 1. Cooter Wolfe, Kersey; 2. Alan Barnett, Philipsburg; 3. Bill McMillen, St. Marys; 4. Mike Anderson, State College; 5. Orin Taylor, DuBois; 6. Brandon Weidow, Byrnedale; 7. Bill Washek, Clearfield; 8. Bob Ralston, Jr., Philipsburg; 9. Josh Bumbarger, Clearfield; 10. Don Henry, DuBois; 11. Mark Hummel, Osceola Mills; 12. Randy Albert, Morrisdale; 13. Bobby Battaglia, Reynoldsville; 14. Robert Tressler; 15. Jonnie Gould, DuBois; 16. David Weidow, Byrnedale; 17. Mike Lucas, Centre Hall; 18. Matt Stahlman, Brockport; 19. George Bailey, Clearfield. Miller Brothers Furniture/By The Room Furniture Pure Stocks: 1. Brian Rhed, Brockport; 2. Jason Bainey, Philipsburg; 3. Mike Donahue, Reynoldsville; 4. Pete Mackie, St. Marys; 5. Kyle Lindenmuth, Brockport; 6. Dave Airgood, Jr., West Middlesex; 7. Jeff Krach, Falls Creek; 8. Francis Gustafson, Weedville; 9. Steve Barnes, Punxsutawney; 10. Rob Molnar, Falls Creek Front Wheel Drive Four-Cylinders: 1. Dustin Fields, Brockport; 2. Steve Ghezzi, Penfield; 3. Aaron Luzier, Clearfield; 4. Chuck Erskine, Clearfield; 5. Brittany Bouch, Reynoldsville; 6. Scott Buffington, Big Run; 7. Stephanie Mansell, Centre Hall; 8. Jessica Brooks, Falls Creek; 9. Steven Bouch, Reynoldsville; 10. Chris Woodel, Brockway; 11. John Spellen, DuBois; 12. Eric Wingard, Big Run; 13. Amber Brown, Punxsutawney; 14. Ben Smith, Penfield; 15. Dave Kohler, DuBois; 16. Josh Fields, Brockport; 17. Zach Lennox, Big Run; 18. Glenn Robinson, DuBois

Clfd SB: Bisons Shutout Sheffield 12-0
Scholastic Standings as of 5/13

Leave a Reply