George Named Head of House Democratic Northwest Caucus

HARRISBURG -State Rep. Camille “Bud” George, D-74 of Houtzdale, Tuesday was re-elected to his seventh consecutive term as chairman of the House Democratic Northwest Caucus.

“The Northwest Caucus will be an effective force on job creation, health care, property taxes and every matter concerning the commonwealth,” said George, who also is majority chairman of the House Environmental Resources and Energy Committee. “The caucus ranks have increased by two and we will strive to put our collective strength to good use.”

Joining George as officers of the House Democratic Northwest Caucus, which represents all or portions of 11 counties, are: Chris Sainato, D-9 of New Castle, vice-chairman; Rep. Florindo “Flo” Fabrizio, D-2 of Erie, secretary; and John Hornaman, D-3 of Erie, treasurer.

Caucus members and the counties they represent are Scott Conklin, D-77 of Centre and Clearfield counties; Jaret Gibbons, D-10 of Beaver, Butler and Lawrence counties; Gary Haluska, D-73 of Cambria County; Michael Hanna, D-76 of Lycoming and Centre counties; Patrick Harkins, D-1 of Erie County; Mark Longietti, D-7 of Mercer County; and Dan Surra, D-75 of Elk and Clearfield counties. Rep. Keith McCall, D-122, of Carbon and Luzerne counties, is the Democratic whip and ex-officio member of the caucus.

“We have new blood and seasoned veterans,” George said. “I thank the caucus members for their votes and look forward to working with them to strengthen northwest Pennsylvania’s voice in the Legislature.”

House Fire in DuBois Area
GantDaily Accepted as Pennsylvania Newspaper Association Member

Leave a Reply