Clearfield County has Plenty of Economic Development in the Next Year

DUBOIS – The economic development picture for Clearfield County is a bright one.

That was the message at the Clearfield County Economic Development Corp.’s annual luncheon Wednesday.

CCEDC Executive Director Rob Swales outlined the work that has been done in the past year, highlighting the fact that two ethanol plants are working to come to the county along with a power co-generation plant.

Swales said the River Hill Power Co. is under site work now, with the $550 million project’s price tag leaning toward $650 million.

“We were hopeful that dirt would be moved and construction would be under way in 2006,” Swales said. The company ran into problems, but things should be on track for a bond closing in the spring.

Two representatives from Sunnyside Ethanol LLC, the company planning to build in Curwensville, were at the luncheon, and Swales said he is hopeful that sludge left on the site of the former Howe’s Leather Co. can begin to be cleaned up in March to make way for the $250 million project.

The other ethanol plant that wants to come to the county, BioEnergy LLC, has yet to narrow their site selection from two. The $250 million project received a grant and loan package of $17.4 million through the state.

Swales also spoke of work done at the Clearfield County Alliance Park and said he plans to have next year’s luncheon in a newly renovated building there.

A lot of calls have been coming into the CCEDC office lately to ask about activity at the Cleafeld County Technology Park. Swales said East End Energy LLC is a fairly new startup company that is manufacturing wood pellets. The company plans to use scrap from Quality Veneer, a tenant in Clearfield County Alliance Park.

CCEDC recognized CCEDC Secretary Scott Davis, CCEDC Assistant Secretary/Treasurer Eric Johnson, CCEDC Board Member Denny Merrey (eight years) and Karin Pfingstler (10 years with the Clearfield County Industrial Development Authority) at the luncheon with plaques.

Joe Varacallo was re-elected to his second three-year term on the board. Dana Null and Joe Bower were named to their first three-year terms in unaniamous votes.

HOLIDAY SHOPPING: All of the Must-Have Info
Lawrence Township Supervisors Take Stand on Proposed Boggs Township Landfill Issue

Leave a Reply