McCartney and Buck become first time winners at Hummingbird Speedway

Reynoldsville —Scott McCartney of Grampian and Jeremy Buck of Shiloh added their names to Hummingbird Speedway’s victory list Saturday evening as each picked up their first wins of the season at the 1/3rd mile clay oval. Other drivers in victory lane on M&K Landscaping night included Luke Hoffner of Turbotville, Fuzzy Fields of Brockport, and Joe Kot of DuBois.

The IC Light Beer four-cylinders opened the feature action with McCartney and Bob Ralston, Jr. showing the way to the green flag of the 15-lap main. After a lap 1 caution, McCartney grabbed the early lead with Bill McMillen in close tow. McMillen kept the pressure on McCartney as both ran side by side for a number of laps. McMillen’s good run came to an end on lap 7 when he pulled into the infield with mechanical problems. McCartney continued his lead through the midway mark with Orin Taylor now challenging for the lead. McCartney wouldn’t be denied as he pulled away for the win. Don Henry and McMillen won the heats.

Loren Sallack and Dwayne Taneyhill led the field of Brookville Wood Products onto the track for their 25-lap feature. After a complete restart, Taneyhill took the early lead with Chuck Kennedy and Hoffner keeping the leader in their sights. After a lap 5 caution, Hoffner looked to the low side of Taneyhill on the restart, and took over the lead on lap 6. The midway mark showed Hoffner in the lead with Taneyhill, Bob McMillen, Kennedy, and Dave Shagla, Jr. completing the top five. Hoffner and Taneyhill started to pull away from the field as Kennedy, McMillen, and Shagla hooked up in a good battle for third place. Hoffner did a fine job late as he maneuvered through lapped traffic to go on to claim his fourth win of the season. Taneyhill, Sallack, and Kennedy won the preliminaries.

The 20-lap Kronik Energy Drink was next on the speedway with Dan Steis and Frank McVay leading the way. After a complete restart, Mark Clark led the first lap, but was caught up in a caution on the same lap. McVay inherited the lead on the restart, but gave way to Fields on lap 2. A number of minor cautions slowed the first half of the race with Fields still on top at the halfway point. After a lap 10 caution, Bob Connor looked to take over the lead from Fields as Dom Surra, Levi Ardery, and Gary Little battled closely for third. With five laps to go, Fields continued to hold Connor at bay with Ardery and Little closing on the leaders. A lap 19 caution led to a green-white-checkered finish with Fields able to get away for his second win of the season. Joe Kot and Dan Smeal copped the heats.

Paul Kot and Matt Heindl made up the starting front row of the 15-lap Miller Brother Furniture/By The Room Furniture pure stock feature. As the field was coming across the start-finish line the first time, Sam McClellan and Kyle Shannon made heavy contact with each other, forcing the Shannon car to do a complete flip. Both cars received heavy damage, but each driver was uninjured. After the red flag period, Kot and Heindl got away from the field with Kot able to stretch out his lead over Heindl. Kot held the lead at the midway point with Heindl, Brian Rhed, Pete Mackie, and Toby Saline trying to close the gap. A late race caution didn’t slow Kot much as he was able to pull away for his fifth win of the season. Kot and Heindl won the heats.

A full 24-car field of front wheel drive four-cylinders took to the speedway with Chris Woodel and Buck leading the way. Buck took the early lead in the 12-lap main with the field starting to spread itself out by lap 3. Buck maintained his lead halfway through with Russ Walls, Woodel, Jerry Walls, and Ben Smith keeping things close. Buck was able to distance himself from the field late as brothers Russ and Jerry Walls battled for second. Buck went on to take the checkered flag and became the eleventh different driver to pick up a win in the division this season. Chuck Erskine, Dustin Fields, Steve Ghezzi, and Mark Segerberg won the heats while Mike Lucas took the consy win.

SPEEDWAY NOTES: There were 99 cars in the pits this evening including 19 limited lates, 17 street stocks, 14 four-cylinders, 16 pure stocks, and 32 front wheel drive four-cylinders. Fans got to spend intermission on the track meeting their favorite drivers with many prizes given away to the
kids. Drivers also collected $453.47 to be donated to the Hahne Cancer Center. Racing continues Saturday with a five-division program sponsored by J&G Plumbing and Heating. Gates open at 4:30 pm with racing at 7. For more information call the track office at 653-8400 or visit the track’s
website at Also a reminder that the first of two Chinese auctions to raise funds for the Hahne Cancer Center will be held on August 12 at the track. More information on this fundraiser is also on the track’s website.


Brookville Wood Products Limited Late Models: 1. Luke Hoffner, Turbotville; 2. Dwayne Taneyhill, Bellwood; 3. Chuck Kennedy, Brockway; 4. Bob McMillen, St. Marys; 5. Dave Shagla, Jr., Sugar Grove; 6. Jim Parson, Jr., Bellwood; 7. Rich Womeldorf, Apollo; 8. Dwayne Brooks, Falls Creek; 9. Adam Nixon, Grampian; 10. Spencer Husted, West Decatur; 11. Loren Sallack, Johnsonburg; 12. Ray Farrell, Clearfield; 13. Carl Ruth, Rossiter; 14. Donnie Connor, Reynoldsville; 15. John Reed, Clearfield; 16. Burton Fingado, Knox; 17. Jim Rozum, Kennerdell; 18. Denny Fenton, Clearfield; 19. John Chesnalavich, Jr., Reynoldsville.

Kronik Energy Drink Street Stock: 1. Fuzzy Fields, Brockport; 2. Bob Connor, DuBois; 3. Levi Ardery, West Decatur; 4. Gary Little, Clearfield; 5. Dan Steis, St. Marys; 6. Joe Kot, DuBois; 7. Nathan Russell, Curwensville; 8. Frank McVay, Boalsburg; 9. Pernell Beimel, St. Marys; 10. Dom Surra, Kersey; 11. Ray Billotte, Mineral Spring; 12. Neil Wilson, Clearfield; 13. Denny Curry, Jr., Clearfield; 14. Kie Brown, Punxsutawney; 15. Mark Clark, Lanse; 16. Dan Smeal, Houtzdale; 17. Scott Fenton, Clearfield.

IC Light Beer Four-Cylinders: Scott McCartney, Grampian; 2. Orin Taylor, DuBois; 3. Mark Hummel, Osceola Mills; 4. Bob Ralston, Jr., Philipsburg; 5. Randy Albert, Morrisdale; 6. Don Henry, DuBois; 7. Ken Erskine, Bells Landing; 8. Aaron Henry, Brockway; 9. Bill McMillen, St. Marys; 10. Lester
Hudson, Clearfield; 11. Brandon Weidow, Byrnedale; 12. Alan Barnett, Philipsburg; 13. George Bailey, Clearfield. Dqed: Mike Anderson.

Miller Brother Furniture/By The Room Furniture Pure Stocks: 1. Paul Kot, DuBois; 2. Matt Heindl, St. Marys; 3. Toby Saline, Kersey; 4. Scott Kline, Kersey; 5. Pete Mackie, St. Marys; 6. Brian Rhed, Brockport; 7.Brian Molnar, Falls Creek; 8. Bill Huntington, Big Run; 9. Tim Schreckengost, Valier; 10. Dustin Michuck, St. Marys; 11. Josh Lindenmuth, Brockport; 12. Kyle Beimel, St. Marys; 13. Sam McClellan, Clearfield; 14. Kyle Shannon, Brockway; 15. Jeff Krach, Falls Creek. DNS: Henry Wilfong.

Front Wheel Drive Four-Cylinders: 1. Jeremy Buck, Shiloh; 2. Russ Walls, DuBois; 3. Jerry Walls, Sykesville; 4. Chris Woodel, Brockport; 5. Ben Smith, Penfield; 6. Kevin Clark, Grassflat; 7. Jimmy Haag, DuBois; 8. Chuck Erskine, Clearfield; 9. Mike Lucas, Pleasant Gap; 10. Kirk Hess, Woodland; 11. Dustin Fields, Brockport; 12. Scott Buffington, Big Run; 13. Mark Segerberg, DuBois; 14. Henry Himes, Brockway; 15. Brian Buffington, Smethport; 16. Dave Kohler, DuBois; 17. John Spellen, DuBois; 18. Shawn Fedder, Clearfield; 19. Craig Askey, DuBois; 20. Michael Reed, Knoxdale; 21. Jessica Brooks, Falls Creek; 22. Steve Ghezzi, Penfield; 23. Michael Stoltz, DuBois; 24. Mike Luzier, Clearfield. DNQ: Chuck Himes, Amber Brown, Jesse Bish, Billy Mumau, Tim Schreckengost, Jr., Katie Hetrick, Jerry Eiselman, & Freddii Lee.

Fair Harness Racing Off to a Good Start
Her-a-canes Undefeated in Pool Play

Leave a Reply