Gaston stops Hoffner\’s win streak at Gambler\’s

CLEARFIELD – Gambler\’s Raceway Park utilized a Sunday as a rain date for its Memorial Day Special, and Matt Gaston of Punxsutawney stopped Luke Hoffner\’s win streak at three by picking up the Railroad Street Tavern victory.
Jason Peters of Clearfield won the pure stock feature while Kyle Parson of
McClure won the four cylinder main.

Repeat winners  included Bob Garvey of Allport in the small block modifieds
and Gary Little of  Clearfield in the street stocks. The front-wheel-drive four-cylinder wild card feature was stopped on lap four when the ambulance had to
leave the speedway. That  feature will pick up on lap five Friday night.

The late models hit  the speedway with Bob McMillen and Jake Shady on the
front row. McMillen took  the initial lead and was setting the pace, when he
threw the drive shaft on lap six in turn four and nearly collected the field
when he lost power. He pitted and Shady gained the lead, but only for one lap, as Matt Gaston went to the inside of Shady in turn three and exited turn four as the new leader. He was  then setting the pace when Bobby Stokes moved to second on lap 15.

As  the laps were winding down, Stokes was closing in on Gaston, but Gaston
wasn\’t about to be denied his first of the season. As the checkered flag waved,
it was Gaston taking the win by a car length over Stokes. Shady was third,
Luke Hoffner  was fourth, and Cody Schultz was fifth. Luke Hoffner won the heat. It  took a couple of tries to get the modified feature underway, but when it went  green Scott \”Snuffy\” Smith was the man who took the initial lead.

Lap two saw Mark Frankhouser spin in turn two, and with no where to go, Bob Garvey rode over the front of Frankhouser and sailed through the air. He landed on all four wheels and continued.

Smith continued setting the pace until lap 11  when his tires went away and
he went high in turn two. This allowed Bob Garvey  to take the lead and set the pace. As the race continued William Blum was moved to second with Derek Rodkey third. While Blum was trying to reel in Garvey, Rodkey had to fight off the challenges from Mike Stine, but at the line it was  Garvey picking up his second win of the season with  Blum, Rodkey, Stine  and Smith completing the top five.

Scott Smith and Bob Garvey split the heat wins.

The street stock feature started with a bang, as three-wide racing at the
start didn\’t work, and a multi-car pile up collected six cars. No one was hurt
in the accident, and only Scott Alvetro was eliminated. The third try was
lucky as Gary Little took the lead and set the pace. As he led, he was pounded
the entire race by Tom Williams, as the Tyrone racer was putting the pressure
on Little. As the race was coming to a close, Williams pulled to the rear of
Little, but Little had the groove as he took his second win of the  season.
Williams held on for second, Jamie Barber was third, Levi Ardery was fourth and Denny Fenton was fifth.

The heats were won by Jamie Barber and Denny Fenton.

Jason Peters and Frank Little led the pure stock feature to the start with
Peters taking the lead and setting the pace. Little was second with Paul Kot
in third. Kot then took second and Little faded to third then fourth as Craig
Bainey took third. He eventually moved to second and was pressuring Peters
for the lead when Kot managed to reassume the runner-up spot.

When the checkered flag fell the top five were: Peters, Kot, Bainey, Little and Kyle Shannon.

Heat wins went to Kyle Shannon and Craig Bainey.

The four-cylinder feature saw George Bailey take the lead before Bill McMillen Sr. took the lead. He was setting pace when Kyle Parson took the lead on
lap nine and checked out for the win. McMillen was second with David  Weidow, Nick Erskine and Bob Ralston Jr. completing the top five.

George Bailey won the heat.

The front-wheel-drive wild card feature was on lap four when the ambulance
left to take a spectator to the hospital. The rest of that feature will be run
Friday night with Mike Williams leading the way.

SIDE BETS: 86 cars filled the pits including 10 late models, 13 modifieds,
21 street stocks, 14 pure stocks, nine four-cylinders and 19 wild cards. The race was the Memorial Day Special in honor of  Dave Kupka, Cliff Charles and Emory Rinehart Sr. This Friday night racing resumes with the remainder of the wild card feature plus a regular show for the late  models, small block modifieds, street stocks, pure stocks, four cylinders and  wild cards. The gates open at 5 p.m. with racing set for 7:30 p.m. sharp. For more information, check the Web site at

SUMMARY  for May 28:

LATE MODELS: 1. Matt Gaston, Punxsutawney; 2. Bobby Stokes,  Milton; 3. Jake Shady, Beech Creek; 4. Luke Hoffner, Turbotville; 5. Cody Schultz,  Hyde; 6. Dan Shagla, Sugar Grove; 7. Todd Baumgardner, West Decatur; 8. Jim  Parson, Bellwood; 9. Dan Kienitz, Hyde; 10. Bob McMillen, St. Marys.

SMALL BLOCK MODIFIEDS: 1. Bob Garvey, Allport;  2. William Blum,
Shippenville; 3. Derek Rodkey, Osceola Mills; 4. Mike Stine, Smithmill; 5. Scott Smith, Woodland; 6. Fay Lumadue, Spring Valley; 7. 44 (unknown); 8. Vern Wasson, Jersey  Shore; 9. Justin Bowser, Punxsutawney; 10. Ron Butterworth, Philipsburg.

STREET STOCKS: 1. Gary Little, Clearfield; 2. Tom Williams, Tyrone; 3.  Jamie Barber, Grampian; 4. Levi Ardery, West Decatur; 5. Denny Fenton Jr.,
Clearfield; 6. Pat Carfley, Curwensville; 7. Dom Surra, St. Mary; 8. Dan Gill,
Clearfield; 9. Jamie Price, Hyde; 10. Denny Curry, Clearfield.

PURE STOCKS: 1. Jason Peters, Clearfield; 2. Paul Kot, DuBois; 3. Craig
Bainey, Morrisdale; 4. Frank Little, Woodland; 5. Kyle Shannon, Brockway;  6.
Bob Helsel, Coalport; 7. Brian Rhed, Brockport; 8. Donald Hynd, Philipsburg;  9. Martin Hubler, Hawk Run; 10. Calvin Wallace, Kylertown.

FOUR-CYLINDERS: 1. Kyle Parson, McClure; 2. Bob McMillen Sr., St. Marys;
3. David Weidow, Byrnedale; 4. Nick Erskine, Mahaffey; 5. Bob Ralston Jr.,
Philipsburg; 6. Lester Hudson, Clearfield; 7. Brian Godissart, Woodland; 8.
George Bailey, Clearfield.

Gaston stops Hoffner\'s win streak at Gambler\'s
Second crappie tournament won with big ol\' fish

Leave a Reply