NFL Hall of Fame enshrines class with most total Pro Bowls

Cesar Tordesillas – 4E Sports Contributor

Canton, OH, United States (4E Sports) – Seven members were enshrined Saturday in the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio, to bring the total number of Hall-of-Famers to 287.

The 2014 class includes linebacker Derrick Brooks, punter Ray Guy, defensive end Claude Humphrey, tackle Walter Jones, wide receiver Andre Reed, defensive end Michael Strahan and cornerback/safety Aeneas Williams.

Wearing the gold jackets they received the night before, the seven new members saw their busts for the first time in the enshrinement ceremony.

This group of players participated in 55 Pro Bowls, the most of any Hall of Fame class, and played a total of 98 seasons and 1,443 games.

Williams talked about setting goals and giving everything he had on the football field.

He recalled when he was profiled as not fast enough to play in the NFL, he got help from a friend from the track team and went from 40-yard dash in 4.6 seconds to 4.3.

He said, “But the goal wasn’t to prove people wrong. The goal was to reach your potential.”

Williams smiled as he recalled stepping onto the field at Giants Stadium and “a whole section stood up and told me I was Number 1 with the middle finger.”

Brooks, who preached abut humility, said his “mother taught to never, never be in a position to toot your own horn, because humility as I once learned is not thinking less of yourself, but thinking of yourself less,”

“There is no higher place to go in this game,” Brooks he added.

Michael Strahan, who was the last one to go at the enshrinement ceremony, said he was “absolutely an improbable Hall of Famer” and shared how his dad paved his path to playing football.

This enshrinement was memorable for many other reasons, including the 19 punters who went to Canton to honor Ray Guy, who became the first punter to be enshrined in the Hall.

But the highlight was the pass received by Andre Reed from 2002 inductee Jim Kelly, who is battling cancer, to reminisce their four consecutive Super Bowls with the Buffalo Bills from 1991 to 1994.

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply