Writers: Ohio State to win Big Ten football crown

Fitzgerald Cecilio – 4E Sports Reporter

Cleveland, OH, United States (4E Sports) – For the second straight year, Big Ten writers have picked Ohio State to win the conference.

In a poll conducted by Cleveland.com, 19 of 29 writers, as representatives of the East Division, predicted that the Buckeyes will win the Big Ten. Nine writers picked Michigan State to emerge from the East while Nebraska got one vote.

Last season, the Buckeyes were overwhelmingly picked to win the Big Ten title by this same group while not a single voter picked Michigan State as the conference champion.

Twelve writers predicted that Ohio State will take on Wisconsin in the Big Ten title game while five opted for Michigan State and Iowa.

In the West Division, Wisconsin was picked by 14 voters to reach the title game. Nine voters picked Iowa, five chose Nebraska and one picked Northwestern.

During the same poll, the writers picked Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller as Big Ten’s Preseason Offensive Player of the Year.

Miller was picked by 21 of the 29 voters to win the offensive award, which wasn’t quite as overwhelming as last year, when he was picked correctly by 24 of 26 writers.

Before the 2012 season, he was picked by just one of 24 voters before he went on to win the award.

He also won the Chicago Tribune’s Silver Football as the league’s best player both years, and has been named the best quarterback by the Big Ten each of the last two seasons.

In his first year in Columbus in 2011, he was named the conference’s Freshman of the Year.

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply