America’s Motorsports Park Results – July 26, 2014

Press release by Terry Whetstone

CLEARFIELD – Jason Beichner of Shippenville was the only new winner on Saturday night at America’s Motorsports Park in Clearfield, as the rains began falling on the seven division card with two features left to run.
Repeat winners included: Mike Blose of Dayton in the Randy Sterling Trucking Late Models, Jeremy Ohl of Jersey Shore in the Denny’s Beer Barrel Pub Semi Lates, Dan Smeal of Ramey in the Srock Contracting Street Stocks and Ralph Engel Jr. of Harmony in the Point Brake and Spring Laurel Highlands Sprints. The Clearfield County Metals Four Cylinders and the PA Vintage Modifieds were rained out.
The Late Models hit the speedway with Mike Blose and Duane Stiner leading the field to the start, with Blose taking the lead and setting the pace as Stiner was a close second. On lap three, multiple cautions slowed the race and sent third place running Mike Altobelli to the rear after he tried to make the track longer than it was. On the third restart, Blose was still leading and he set his sights on the win, but a bobble in turn two gave Stiner the opportunity he needed, as he darted into the lead and began to open a slight lead, but Blose was there as were Andrew Gordon, Dan Gill and a returning Altobelli to the front of the field. On lap 20, the 99s of Stiner went around in turn four, bringing out the final caution of the night. This gave Blose the lead and put Gordon on his bumper.As the race went green, Stiner was at the back working his way towards the front but ran out of time. At the finish it was Blose getting the win over Gordon, Altobelli, Gill and Bill Davis. Altobelli and John “Buddy” Brady won the heats.
The Laurel Highland Sprints took to the speedway with Ralph Engel Jr. getting the jump on Cowboy Jim Kennedy at the start and leading the 25-lapper to the end. Kennedy held off all advances from Ryan Lynn to come home second with Lynn holding off Tyler Denochick for third and Jeff Bacha coming home in fifth. Engel and Kennedy won the heats.
The Semi Lates saw Neil Wilson lead Michael Blazer off the line as Wilson led the first six laps, then Louie Jacoby took the lead and was leading the way, as Jeremy Ohl took the lead from him on lap 16. Ohl led the feature the rest of the distance, but he didn’t lead by much, as Jacoby held on to second over Denny Forney, Kevin Dickson and Wilson. Heat wins went to Ohl and Paul Ivory.
The front row of the Street Stock feature saw Fuzzy Fields on the inside and Dan Smeal on the outside with Smeal taking the lead and going to victory lane, but Fields was second and Curtis Teats was third. As the leaders began to work lapped traffic, Fields got crossed up, giving Teats an advantage to move into second, as he took the runner up spot. As Smeal led, Teats had to ward off Fields for second at the waving of Artie Luzier’s double checkered flags, the win went to Smeal with Teats, Fields, Johnny Lidenpitz and Jamie Price rounding out the top five. Heat wins were split between Smeal and Fields.
The Pure Stock feature was a survival of the fittest and that honor went to Jason Beichner, as he led from green to checker for his first win of the season. Ron Winslow survived for second over Tyler Wagner, Justin Queen and new comer Josh Fields. Heat wins went to Winslow and Beichner.
AMP NOTES: 88 teams filled the pits, including: 18 Late Models, 10 Laurel Highland Sprints, 10 Semi Lates, 10 Street Stocks, 9 Pure Stocks, 16 Four Cylinders and 15 PA Vintage Modifieds…fives and fours were wild, as Blose, Engel and Ohl won in cars with the #5 and Smeal and Beichner had number 44 and 4 respectively…The Four Cylinder feature will be run on August 9 when racing returns after a one week hiatus for the Clearfield County Fair…for more information check out the website at
Late Models: 1. Mike Blose, Dayton; 2. Andrew Gordon, 3. Mike Altobelli, 4. Dan Gill, 5. Bill Davis, 6. Tom Shaffer, 7. Scott Alvetro, 8. Randy Sterling, 9. Dwayne Taneyhill, 10. Derek Rodkey, 11. Duane Stiner, 12. Luke Hoffner, 13. Tom Merryman, 14. Marvin Williams, 15. Steve Scaife, 16. Todd Sallack, 17. John Brady, 18. Greg Kent,
Laurel Highlands Sprints: 1. Ralph Engel, Jr, Harmony; 2. Jim Kennedy, 3. Ryan Lynn, 4. Tyler Denochick, 5. Jeff Bacha, 6. Hunter McCracken, 7. Robbie Bartchey, 8. Don Sotosky, 9. Cory Thornton, 10. Steve Kenawell, Jr.
Semi Lates: 1. Jeremy Ohl, Jersey Shore; 2. Louie Jacoby, Jr., 3. Denny Forney, 4. Kevin Dickson, 5. Neil Wilson, 6. Josh Henry, 7. Daniel Husted, 8. Michael Blazer, 9. Paul Ivory, 10. Bob Smith.
Street Stock: 1. Dan Smeal, Ramey; 2. Curtis Teats, 3. Fuzzy Fields, 4. Johnny Lindepitz, 5. Jamie Price, 6. Jim Bloom, 7. Orin Taylor, 8. Brian Rhed, 9. Ray Reynolds, 10. Bob Rosman
Pure Stock: 1. Jason Beichner, Shippenville; 2. Ron Winslow, 3. Tyler Wagner, 4. Justin Queen, 5. Josh Fields, 6. Eric Lucas, 7. Cregan Brady,
DQ: B.J. Hudson; DNS: Dustin Kemp.
Parks Pit Report: Crown Royal Presents the John Wayne Walding 400 at the Brickyard
Zurat Records First Win in Minors

Leave a Reply