Lisa Leslie to lead 2015 Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame

Cesar Tordesillas – 4E Sports Contributor

Knoxville, TN, United States (4E Sports) – Olympic and WNBA legend Lisa Leslie will headline a six-member class to be inducted into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame in Knoxville, Tennessee, on June 13, 2015.

Leslie won four Olympic gold medals for USA Basketball and two WNBA championships with the Los Angeles Sparks before retiring in 2009.

Janeth Arcain helped the Houston Comets win four consecutive WNBA titles and was a mainstay on the Brazilian national team.

Janet Harris, a three-time Kodak All-American while at University of Georgia , was the first NCAA woman to tally 2,500 points and 1,250 rebounds.

Kurt Budke, who died in a plane crash in 2011, posted the highest winning percentage in NJCAA with 273-31 (.898) and led Oklahoma State to a Sweet 16 run in the 2008.

Gail Goestenkors built Duke into a national power, guiding the Blue Devils to four Final Four appearances and seven straight seasons with at least 30 victories.

Brad Smith, who coached to a 629-87 record over 27 seasons with Oregon City High School, was honored in 2012 with the Morgan Wooten Award for lifetime achievement in high school hoops.

The Hall of Fame will also recognize the 1972-74 Immaculata College teams by adding them to the “Trailblazers of the Game” display.

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply