America’s Motorsports Park Results – July 12, 2014

Press release by Terry Whetstone

CLEARFIELD PA – Pete Ivory of Irvona and Jamie Price of Clearfield picked up their first feature wins of the 2014 season Saturday night in the Denny’s Beer Barrel Pub Semi Lates and the Srock Contracting Street Stocks respectively. Repeat winners included Duane Stiner of Houtzdale in the Randy Sterling Trucking Late Models, Eric Lucas of Clearfield in the WG Satterlee and Sons Pure Stocks and Garrett Watkins of Huntingdon in the Clearfield County Metals Four Cylinders. The RUSH Sportsman’s Modifieds disappointed once again with only two cars. Greg Martin of Wilson, NY won the race.
The Late Models took to the speedway with Randy Sterling and Derek Rodkey on the front row, with Rodkey shooting into the lead and setting the pace early. He sat through four early cautions while setting the pace. As he led, Duane Stiner and Luke Hoffner battled for the second position for many laps, with a lot of side-by-side racing action, as Stiner finally completed the pass for second on lap 10, then one lap later, using the outside line, Stiner powered by Rodkey for the lead. Once he was out front Hoffner followed suit and took second from Rodkey and set his sights on Stiner. Stiner was able to sit through five more cautions to get his fourth win of the season and second straight. Hoffner, Rodkey, Scott Alvetro and Dwayne Taneyhill completed the top five. Heat race wins went to Rodkey and Sterling.
Neil Wilson came from the third spot to lead the first lap of the Semi Late feature, with Michael Blazer in second and Pete Ivory third. Wilson was able to maintain the lead for the first seven laps, then Ivory took the lead as his son, Paul Ivory soon followed suit and was in second. Paul Ivory tried repeatedly to reel in this father, but Pete was not to be denied his first win ever at AMP. Paul Ivory was second with Wilson, Kevin Dickson and Blazer completing to top five. Paul Ivory won the heat.
Jamie Price beat Bob Rosman off the line to start the Street Stock feature and while he led from start to finish, his win wasn’t really easy, as he had Curtis Teats in second for the first five laps hounding him, before Rosman took the position away, then on lap six, a grinding crash halted the action when Teats got drilled in the driver’s door by Fuzzy Fields. Several others were also involved. Teats was ok, but sore after the crash. On the restart Price continued to lead, with Rosman in second and Johnny Lindenpitz third and that is how the race ended. Chad Rougeaux was fourth and Ray Reynolds was fifth. Heat wins went to Lindenpitz and Mike Desch.
The Pure Stocks were led to the line with Ron Winslow on the inside and Eric Lucas on the outside, and at the Eric Lucas on the high side. On the start Lucas took the lead Winslow in second before Mike Duck and BJ Hudson in third. As the race continued Duck and Hudson challenged each other many laps before Hudson took the position for good. At the finish the top five were: Lucas getting his second win of the year, Hudson and Duck were second, Ron Winslow was third, David Beahr was fourth and Justin Queen was fifth. Heat wins were split between Winslow and Queen.
Garrett Watkins came from fourth at the start of the Four Cylinder Feature to take the lead from front row starters Milton Owens and Darren Lucas. While Watkins led the race the entire time, he has Aaron Luzier to contend with, but Luzier couldn’t muster up the power to get the lead from Watkins, as he became the first driver in nine races to repeat in the winners circle. The top five behind Watkins included: Luzier, Dustin Kemp, Ryan Shaffner and Lucas. Heat wins went to Kemp and Luzier.
The RUSH Sportsmen’s Modifieds made their second and most likely last visit to the speedway, as only two felt obligated to show up. Greg Martin beat Jeremy Zufall off the line and led the event the entire distance for the win. Zufall was second and Martin won the heat.
PIT NOTES: There were 60 teams in the pits, including: 14 Late Models, 8 Semi Lates, 14 Street Stocks, 8 Pure Stocks, 14 Four Cylinders and 2 RUSH Sportsman’s Modifieds…Coming up this week is a regular five division AMPed up show for the Late Models, Semi Lates, Street Stocks, Pure Stocks and Four Cylinders, Plus the return of the Laurel Highland Sprints. Gates open at 4 with race time changing to 7:30 p.m. for the rest of the season…Second generation driver Daniel Husted was making his racing debut in the Semi Late. He is the son of local legend Clate Husted, who has retired after many, many years of great success. Clate was also in the pits…Coming up on July 27 it’s the fourth annual Connor Bobik Memorial for the Late Models, sponsored by Srock Contracting and Randy Sterling Trucking. The 35 lapper pays $3,000 to win and $300 to start. The Laurel Highland Sprints are also on the card paying $500 to win and $200 to start. For complete details, check the website at
Randy Sterling Trucking Late Models: 1. Duane Stiner, Houtzdale; 2. Luke Hoffner, 3. Derek Rodkey, 4. Scott Alvetro, 5. Dwayne Taneyhill, 6. Bill Davis, 7. Dan Boyd, 8. Randy Sterling, 9. Travis Brady, 10. Marvin Williams, 11. Jason Read, 12. John Brady, 13. Steve Scaife, 14. Dan Gill.
Denny’s Beer Barrel Pub Semi Lates: 1. Pete Ivory, Irvona; 2. Paul Ivory, 3. Neil Wilson, 4. Kevin Dickson, 5. Michael Blazer, 6. Daniel Husted, 7. Chad Desmett. DNS – Rodney Luzier.
Srock Contracting Street Stocks: 1. Jamie Price, Clearfield; 2. Bob Rosman, 3. Johnny Lindenpitz, 4. Chad Rougeux, 5. Ray Reynolds, 6. Rick Hemphill, 7. Tony Brown, 8. Brian Rhed, 9. Orin Taylor, 10. Curtis Teats, 11. Fuzzy Fields, 12. Jim Bloom, 13. Mike Desch. DNS – Dan Smeal.
W.G. Satterlee Oil Pure Stocks: 1. Eric Lucas, Clearfield; 2. BJ Hudson, 2. Mike Duck, 3. Ron Winslow, 4. David Beahr, 5. Justin Queen, 7. Zach Huff, 8. Cregan Brady.
Clearfield County Metals Four Cylinders: 1. Garrett Watkins, Huntingdon; 2. Aaron Luzier, 3. Dustin Kemp, 4. Ryan Shaffner, 5.Darren Lucas, 6. Eric Luzier, 7. Milton Owens, 8. Jen Bailey, 9. Corin Monoskey, 10. Andy Hake, 11. Ricky Clark, 12. Austin Hockenberry, 13. Stephanie Lucas, 14. Andy Leigey.
RUSH Sportsmen’s Modifieds: 1. Greg Martin, Wilson, NY; 2. Jeremy Zufall.
Parks Pit Report: Camping World RV Sales 301
Chiefs' CPL Playoff Game at Bellefonte Suspended; CPL Playoff Scoreboard

Leave a Reply