Most Outstanding Player Sidney Crosby leads winners at NHL Awards show

Cesar Tordesillas – 4E Sports Contributor

Las Vegas, NV, United States (4E Sports) – Pittsburgh Penguins captain Sidney Crosby received the Ted Lindsay Award for being the Most Outstanding Player to lead the winners of the NHL Awards show at Encore Theater in Wynn Las Vegas.

It was the second straight season and the third time in his career that Crosby received the award.

He also accepted the Hart Trophy for being the most valuable to his team and was feted with the Art Ross Trophy as the NHL’s leading scorer, both for the second time in his career.

Boston Bruins center Patrice Bergeron captured the Frank J. Selke Trophy for being “the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game.”

Colorado Avalanche forward Nathan MacKinnon won the Calder Memorial Trophy as the top rookie.

Washington Capitals right wing Alex Ovechkin claimed his second consecutive and fourth career Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy as the goal-scoring leader.

Chicago Blackhawks’ Duncan Keith won the Norris Trophy for being the top defenseman.

Jonathan Quick of the Los Angeles Kings was presented the William M. Jennings Trophy as “the goalkeeper(s) having played a minimum of 25 games for the team with the fewest goals scored against it.”

Avalanche forward Ryan O’Reilly captured the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy as “the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.”

Tuukka Rask of the Boston Bruins captured the Vezina Trophy for being the “goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at his position.”

Avalanche’s Patrick Roy won the Jack Adams Award in his first season as a NHL coach while Bob Murray of the Anaheim Ducks was given the NHL General Manager of the Year Award.

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply