America’s Motorsports Park Results – June 21, 2014

Press release by Terry Whetstone

Three New AMP Winners on Wild Night
CLEARFIELD, PA – A wild night at the races at America’s Motorsports Park saw three drivers find victory lane, one driver hospitalized and a fan also was hospitalized at the same time.
New winners included: Brian Rhed of Brockport in the Srock Contracting Street Stocks, Eric Lucas of Clearfield in the WG Satterlee Pure Stocks and Andrew Moist of Lewistown in the Clearfield County Metals Four Cylinders. Repeat winners included: Duane Stiner of Houtzdale in the Randy Sterling Trucking Late Models, Paul Ivory of Irvona in the Denny’s Beer Barrel Pub Semi Lates and John Braim of Turbotville in the Point Spring and Break Laurel Highland Sprints.
The Late Models hit the track with Tom Merryman Jr. and Randy Sterling on the front row, with Merryman taking the lead. He led until the first caution on lap two. On the restart, fourth place starter Duane Stiner moved into the lead and with an inside move on the backstretch entering turn three. Luke Hoffner followed suite and the pair was pulling away from the rest of the field. Cautions fell at a regular pace, keeping the field tightened up, with Dan Gill passing Josh Jacoby on lap eight to take over third, but Gill could not run down the leaders as Stiner went on to get his second win of the season and become the first repeat winner in the class this season. Hoffner, Gill, Jacoby and Scott Alvetro completed the top five. The heats were won by Derek Rodkey and Stiner.
The Sprints saw a field of 18 take the green flag as new comer Jacob Gamola took the lead from fellow front row starter Greg Bartchy. Lap two saw Bartchy take the lead with Gamola second and Ralph Engle third with 12th place starter John Braim moving through the field. On lap four Braim was second, taking the lead on lap eight. Bartchy fell to third and was fading some when disaster struck. “Cowboy” Jim Kennedy got tagged and spun into the front stretch wall head on, he bounced off the wall and into traffic, collecting Tylor Cochran and Bartchy. Kennedy ended up nearly on his side. He was not hurt, but medical personnel were tending to Bartchy. He was removed from the car with care and transported by Mountain Top Fire Co. EMS of Sandy Ridge to Clearfield Airport where he was flown by Stat MedEvac Helicopter to UPMC Altoona. At least report Bartchy was serious with little or no feeling in his lower extremities. (Editor’s Note: Bartchy improved dramatically overnight and may be released from the hospital as soon as Monday). The race restarted a while later and it was Braim leading to the finish for his second win of the season. Engle was second with Jeff Bacha, Todd Lynn and Cochran completing the top five. Heat wins were split between Kennedy and Engle.
Michael Blazer and Kevin Dickson led the Semi Lates to the green flag with Dickson leading the first lap before Jeremy Ohl took the lead. He appeared to have the set up for the night, but on lap four he spun while leading on his own, and that gave Paul Ivory the lead. Ivory never relinquished that top spot and went on to get his third win of the season. Ohl was second with Josh Henry, Blazer and Pete Ivory completing the top five. Ohl won the heat.
The Street Stock feature saw Curtis Teats on the pole and Brian Rhed outside, with Rhed taking the lead and never giving it up. Dan Smeal ran second the entire race and could not muster up enough power to reel Rhed in who was hooked up and flying. A quick caution on lap two was all that slowed the race. At the waving at Artie Luziers double checkered flags it was Rhed winning over Smeal, Fuzzy Fields, Teats and Jamie Price.
The Pure Stock feature was a survival of the fittest, as many cars had dents from one driver of another. The front row was Tyler Wagner and BJ Hudson, with Hudson taking the lead and setting the pace, with Wagner second, but he spun, giving Eric Lucas second. Lucas followed Hudson for five laps, before muscling past and into the lead. Lucas went on to win with Ron Winslow second, Nick Erskine third, Amber Mills fourth and Wagner fifth. The heat was won by Winslow.
Stephanie Lucas and Dustin Kemp led the four cylinders to the green as Lucas led the opening lap before Andrew Moist took the lead and held off Lucas for his career first AMP win. Lucas held off Garrett Watkins for second with Ryan Shaffner fourth and Aaron Luzier fifth.. Kemp and Lucas won the heats.
PIT NOTES: There were 68 cars in the pits, including: 10 Late Models, 18 Sprints, 8 Semi Lates, 11 Street Stocks, 7 Pure Stocks and 14 Four Cylinders…Coming up this week is a regular five division AMPed up show for the Late Models, Semi-Lates, Street Stock, Pure Stocks and Four Cylinders, plus the Laurel Highland 305 Sprints and the RUSH Sportsmen Modifieds…Coming on July 3rd there will be truck and tractor pulls along with a huge fireworks display, then on July 5th the BOSS Wingless 410 Sprints will be in action along with a regular show and a special appearance by NASCAR legend Red Farmer, who will be racing a Late Model on this night. Find out more on the website at
Randy Sterling Trucking Late Models: 1. Duane Stiner, Houtzdale; 2. Luke Hoffner, 3. Dan Gill, 4. Josh Jacoby, 5. Scott Alvetro, 6. Derek Rodkey, 7. John Brady, 8. Tom Merryman, 9. Randy Sterling, 10. Travis Brady .
Point Break and Spring Laurel Highland Sprints: 1. John Braim, Turbotville; 2. Ralph Engel, Jr., 3. Jeff Bacha, 4. Todd Lynn, 5. Taylor Cochran, 6. Eddie Mesaros, 7. Robbie Bartchy, 8. Rod Shelley, 9. Don Sotosky, 10. Hunter McCracken, 11. James Pryde, 12. Jacob Gamola, 13. Steve Kenawell, Jr., 14. Greg Bartchy, 15. “Cowboy” Jim Kennedy, 16. Justin Zap, 17. Jimmy Minarchick.
Tyler Denochick – Did not start.
Denny’s Beer Barrel Pub Semi Lates: 1. Paul Ivory, Irvona; 2. Jeremy Ohl, 3. Josh Henry, 4. Michael Blazer, 5. Pete Ivory, 6. Kevin Dickson, 7. Neil Wilson, 8. Chad Desmett.
Srock Contracting Street Stocks: 1. Brian Rhed, Brockport; 2. Dan Smeal, 3. Fuzzy Fields, 4. Curtis Teats, 5. Jamie Price, 6. Bob Rossman, 7. Rick Hemphill, 8. Bill Phillips, Jr., 9. Johnny Lindenpitz, 10. Chad Rougeux, 11.. Butch Briam.
W.G. Satterlee Oil Pure Stocks: 1. Eric Lucas, Clearfield; 2. Ron Winslow, 3. Nick Erskine, 4. Amber Mills, 5. Tyler Wagner, 6. Justin Queen.
BJ Hudson – DQ’d.
Clearfield County Metals Four Cylinders: 1. Andrew Moist, Lewistown; 2. Stephanie Lucas, 3. Garrett Watkins, 4. Ryan Shaffner, 5. Aaron Luzier, 6. Milton Owens, 7. Jen Bailey, 8. Heath Leonard, 9. Ricky Clark, 10. Jesse Mayhew, 11. Zach Moist, 12. Corey Steinhoff, 13. Dustin Kemp, 14. Steven Fredrick.
Parks Pit Report: Toyota/Save Mart 350
Rowles, Summers Key Chiefs' 13-3 Victory Over Clarence

Leave a Reply