MLB reprimands David Ortiz for questioning official scorer’s decision

Fitzgerald Cecilio – 4E Sports Reporter

New York, NY, United States (4E Sports) – Major League Baseball (MLB) has reprimanded Boston Red Sox slugger David Ortiz for expressing displeasure regarding an official scorer’s decision.

“Official scorers have a job to do, and by their very nature, their decisions don’t make everyone happy,” MLB executive vice president for baseball operations Joe Torre said

in a statement.

“But everyone in our game deserves respect. I hope that David will meet that standard going forward, because I don’t share the same views that he expressed,” he added.

Ortiz refused to comment on Torre’s statement.

Ortiz expressed displeasure over a call that took place when he hit a sharp two-hopper just to the right of Twins first baseman Joe Mauer in the seventh inning of Wednesday’s game at Fenway Park.

The ball bounced off Mauer’s glove and rolled a few feet away. The off-balance Mauer was unable to recover, and Ortiz reached first base safely.

After viewing a couple of replays, the official scorer, Bob Ellis, charged Mauer with an error. When the inning ended, Ortiz could be seen yelling at the press box, making a thumbs-down motion several times to indicate his displeasure with the call.

After the game, Ortiz was still fuming, saying he “thought people were supposed to have your back at home, and it never happens.

“It’s always like that,” Ortiz added. “I’ve been here for more than a decade and the scorekeepers here are always horrible. This is home, man.”

Torre took issue over Ortiz’s contention that an official scorer should give some leeway to the home team in making decisions on hits and errors.

“Official scorers should never give any benefit of the doubt to the home team. We want their best judgment, based on the rules,” Torre said.

Red Sox manager John Farrell says the team plans to appeal the decision.

“I think the thing that could be said is any time there’s a discrepancy, a dispute or differing of opinion, there’s a process that the play can be forwarded for further review, and that’s what we’ll do with David’s ball that glanced off Mauer’s glove the other day,” he said.

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply