America’s Motorsports Park Results – June 14, 2014

Press release by Terry Whetstone

CLEARFIELD – John “Buddy” Brady earned his first ever feature win Saturday night in the Randy Sterling Trucking Late Model feature at America’s Motorsports Park and by doing that, he became the fifth different winner in as many races this season.
Josh Frantz of DuBois picked up his first win of the season in the Clearfield County Metal Four Cylinders and Jeremy Zufall from Greensburg won the first ever visit in the RUSH Sportsmen’s Modifieds. Repeat winners included: Paul Ivory of Irvona in the Denny’s Beer Barrel Pub Semi Lates, Nick Erskine of Mahaffey in the WG Satterlee Pure Stocks and Fuzzy Fields of Brockway in the Srock Contracting Street Stocks.
The Late Models hit the track with Tom Viello and John “Buddy” Brady on the front row, with Viello leading into the first turn. He went high and Brady shot under him for the lead, working his way around the track at a nice pace. As he was leading the way, Randy Sterling was sitting second and Luke Hoffner was coming to the front from his ninth place start. Brady was still leading as the first caution flew on lap 20 for a broken Duane Stiner. When the green dropped again, it was Brady still in control but Hoffner was now up to third, having passed Josh Jacoby on lap 24 when the caution flew for a stopped Dan Gill. With a green, white, checkered finish set up, Hoffner moved to the outside of Sterling and took second away from him and he was on Brady’s bumper, but Brady held onto the bottom and grabbed his first career feature win. Hoffner, Sterling, Jacoby and Scott Alvetro completed the top five. Heat wins went to Brady and Hoffner.
“I was getting nervous at the end, because I knew Luke (Hoffner) was coming and had to be close,” Brady said, after the race. “I wasn’t giving up the inside tonight, that’s how I lost last week.”
The Semi-Late Feature was led to the start by Pete Ivory, subbing for his daughter, Stephanie with his son Paul on the outside pole. Pete Ivory led the first lap, before his son took the lead. Once out front, Paul Ivory set the pace, as Louie Jacoby then came to a stop on the backstretch and at the same time in turn four a three car crash halted the action. The rest of the race it was Paul Ivory who took his second win of the season over Neil Wilson, Jason Mullen, Chad Desmett and Pete Ivory. Jeremy Ohl won the heat.
The newly created RUSH Sportsmen’s Modified class showed up with five cars for their first visit with Jeremy Zufall and Adam Siegel on the front row. Zufall took the lead and kept Adam Hilton at bay the entire distance. At the line it was Zufall winning with Greg Martin, Hilton, Siegel and Rocky Kugel completing the field. The heat went to Martin.
The Street Stocks saw newcomer Ron Boardman and Fuzzy Fields on the front row. Fields took the lead at the start and held a comfortable lead over the field. As he set the pace, the best fight was for second, with Jamie Price, Boardman, Dan Smeal and Curtis Teats fighting for the position. As the race wore on, Fields was able to keep all challengers at bay for his third win of the season. Price, Smeal, Boardman and Teats rounded out the top five. Brian Rhed and Smeal won the heats.
The Pure Stocks saw Bob Helsel and Tyler Wagner bring the field to the start, with Wagner taking the lead. He led the first three laps, before Nick Erskine took the lead on lap four. As he was leading, Justin Queen was trying to get to the front from his eighth place start, as he moved past Wagner for second on lap five, but he went high in turn two and lost several spots. Erskine continued to set the pace, as Queen was working his way into the third spot, around BJ Hudson, as he set his sights on Wagner, and took second from him on lap 13. At the end of the feature Erskine won his third of the season with Queen, Wagner, Hudson and Shawn Shoemaker rounding out the top five. The heat was won by Eric Lucas.
The Four Cylinders went green with Robert Wellman and Josh Frantz on the front row, with Frantz taking the lead and opening up a decent lead with the battle being for second with Garrett Watkins, Dustin Kemp and Stephanie Lucas jockeying for position. As they did that, last place starter Eric Boozel was coming towards the front. He moved into third on lap 12 and into second on lap 14 as a caution waved. With a green, white, checkered finish on tap once again, it was still Frantz who took his first win of the season, with Boozel, Kemp, Lucas and Ryan Shaffner completing the top five. Watkins and Frantz won heats.
PIT NOTES: 52 teams were in the pits, including: 10 Late Models, 7 Semi Lates, 5 RUSH Sportsman’s Modifieds, 9 Street Stocks, 8 Pure Stocks and 13 Four Cylindrs…Coming up this week is a five division AMPed up show for the Late Moels, Semi-Lates, Street Stock, Pure Stocks and Four Cylinders, plus the Laurel Highland 305 Sprints…Coming on July 3rd there will be truck and tractor pulls along with a huge fireworks display, then on July 5th the BOSS Wingless 410 Sprints will be in action along with a regular show and a special appearance by NASCAR legend Red Farmer, who will be racing a Late Model on this night. Find out more on the website at
Randy Sterling Trucking Late Models: 1. John Brady, Clearfield; 2. Luke Hoffner, 3. Randy Sterling, 4. Josh Jacoby, 5. Scott Alvetro, 6. Duane Stiner, 7. Dwayne Taneyhill, 8. Tom Viello, 9. Dan Gill, 10. Derek Rodkey .
RUSH Sprotsmen’s Modifieds: 1. Jeremy Zufall, Greensburg; 2. Greg Martin, 3. Adam Hilton, 4. Adam Siegel, 5. Rocky Kugel.
Denny’s Beer Barrel Pub Semi Lates: 1. Paul Ivory, Irvona; 2. Neil Wilson, 3. Jason Mullen, 4. Chad Desmett, 5. Pete Ivory, 6. Louie Jacoby.
Jeremy Ohl – Did not start.
Srock Contracting Street Stocks: 1. Fuzzy Fields, Brockway; 2. Jamie Price, 3. Dan Smeal, 4. Ron Boardman, 5. Curtis Teats, 6. Chad Rougeux, 7. Brian Rhed, 8. Tony Brown, 9. Butch Braim.
W.G. Satterlee Oil Pure Stocks: 1. Nick Erskine, Mahaffey; 2. Justin Queen, 3. Tyler Wagner, 4. BJ Hudson, 5. Shawn Shoemaker, 6. Amber Mills, 7. Bob Helsel, 8. Eric Lucas.
Clearfield County Metals Four Cylinders: 1. Josh Frantz, DuBois; 2. Eric Boozel, 3. Dustin Kemp, 4. Stephanie Lucas, 5. Ryan Shaffner, 6. Robert Wellman, 7. Matt Sowers, 8. Garrett Watkins, 9. Milton Owens, 10. Darren Lucas, 11. Aaron Luzier, 12. Eric Luzier.
Steve Martell – Did not start.


Parks Pit Report: Quicken Loans 400
Chiefs' Game Called Off

Leave a Reply