Germany announces provisional lineup for World Cup

Fitzgerald Cecilio – 4E Sports Reporter

Frankfurt, Germany (4E Sports) – Midfielder Sami Khedira, who suffered a serious knee injury in November, was among those named in Germany’s provisional squad for the World Cup.

Khedira tore anterior cruciate knee ligaments in his knee during the Nov. 15 friendly against Italy, but has returned to training with Real and even has an outside chance of playing for them in the Champions League final on May 24.

“We believe that he has positive perspective,” Germany head coach Joachim Loew said of Khedira. “He owes it to his will, his discipline and his determination.

“He belongs to those players, who can make a difference for the team, on and off the pitch. We have every hope that we can lead him to the highest burdens that a World Cup entails,” he added.

Chelsea’s Andre Schuerrle will also be joining Germany as it prepares for the tournament. The forward joins Arsenal trio Lukas Podolski, Per Mertesacker and Mesut Ozil.

Loew called up seven players from Bayern Munich, six from Borussia Dortmund, four from Schalke and three from Premier League side Arsenal among his 30-man squad, which will be reduced by at least four following next Tuesday’s friendly against Poland before the final 23-man party for the finals in Brazil is named on June 2.

Fiorentina forward Gomez will stay behind, however, as he has been struggling with injuries throughout the season, and has only played 10 games since November.

“He has been injured for seven months, has only played 280 minutes since September,” Loew said. “Of course I’d have loved to see a fit Mario Gomez playing and scoring more at Fiorentina.”

Next week’s clash against Germany’s neighbours in Mainz will see several youngsters like Frankfurt’s Sebastian Jung complete the squad as several players are still on club duty.

Germany’s provisional World Cup squad:

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Roman Weidenfeller (Borussia Dortmund), Ron-Robert Zieler (Hannover).

Defenders: Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Erik Durm, Kevin Grosskreutz (both Borussia Dortmund), Benedikt Howedes (Schalke), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Marcell Jansen (Hamburg), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich), Per Mertesacker (Arsenal), Shkodran Mustafi (Sampdoria), Marcel Schmelzer (Borussia Dortmund).

Midfielders: Lars Bender (Bayer Leverkusen), Julian Draxler (Schalke), Mario Gotze (Bayern Munich), Leon Goretzka (Schalke), Andre Hahn (Augsburg), Sami Khedira (Real Madrid), Toni Kroos (Bayern Munich), Max Meyer (Schalke), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich), Mesut Ozil (Arsenal), Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund), Andre Schurrle (Chelsea), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich), Kevin Volland (Hoffenheim), Matthias Ginter (Freiburg).

Forwards: Lukas Podolski (Arsenal), Miroslav Klose (Lazio).

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply