Grizzlies guard Mike Conley wins NBA Sportsmanship Award

Fitzgerald Cecilio – 4E Sports Reporter

New York, NY, United States (4E Sports) – Memphis Grizzlies playmaker Mike Conley has bagged the NBA Sportsmanship Award, garnering 77 out of 334 first-place votes from fellow players.

Conley, the first Grizzlies to receive the honor, bested Jeff Green of the Boston Celtics, who earned 65 first-place votes and 1,971 points.

Channing Frye of the Phoenix Suns was third with 1,915 points, followed by Washington Wizards guard Bradley Beal (1,897), Damian Lillard of the Portland Trail Blazers (1,881) and Mike Dunleavy of the Chicago Bulls (1,832)

The NBA will make a donation of $10,000 on behalf of Conley to the charity of his choice, the St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital.

The trophy is named after former Detroit Pistons star Joe Dumars, the first winner in 1995-96. It is given to a player who reflects the ideals of sportsmanship — ethical behavior, fair play and integrity — in amateur and professional basketball.

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply