Spurs Gregg Popovich named NBA Coach of the Year

News Room Administrators Staff

NY, NY, United States (NewsBahn) – San Antonio Spurs coach Gregg Popovich was named NBA Coach of the Year Tuesday, capturing the honor for the third time.

The Spurs won 50 or more regular season games for the 15th straight time, a remarkable feat of consistency.

Popovich piled up 59 first-place votes and 380 points in balloting among sportswriters and broadcasters, joining Pat Riley and Don Nelson as three-time winners.

Phoenix Suns coach Jeff Hornacek, who had 339 points (37 first-place votes) finished second, while Chicago’s Tom Thibodeau (159), Charlotte’s Steve Clifford (127) and Toronto’s Dwane Casey (70) rounded out the top five.

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply