98th Annual Pulitzer Prize winners announced, The Guardian U.S, Washington Post tie in Public Service category

Paula David – Fourth Estate Cooperative Reporter

New York, NY, United States (4E) – The winners in the 98th Annual Pulitzer Prize for Journalism, Letters, Drama and Music were announced Monday by Columbia University, and The Guardian U.S. and Washington Post were announced to have both earned gold medals each.

The Guardian U.S. was honored for its “revelation of widespread secret surveillance by the National Security Agency, helping through aggressive reporting to spark a debate about the relationship between the government and the public over issues of security and privacy.”

The Washington Post, on the other hand, won for its revelation of widespread secret surveillance by the National Security Agency, marked by authoritative and insightful reports that helped the public understand how the disclosures fit into the larger framework of national security.”

The complete list of winners in the 21 categories in three divisions this year is as follows:


1. Public Service – The Guardian U.S. and The Washington Post

2. Breaking News Reporting – The Boston Globe Staff

3. Investigative Reporting – Chris Hamby of The Center for Public Integrity, Washington, D.C.

4. Explanatory Reporting – Eli Saslow of The Washington Post

5. Local reporting – Will Hobson and Michael LaForgia of the Tampa Bay Times

6. National Reporting – David Philipps of The Gazette, Colorado Springs, Colorado

7. International Reporting – Jason Szep and Andrew R.C. Marshall of Reuters

8. Feature Writing – No Award

9. Commentary – Stephen Henderson of the Detroit Free Press

10. Criticism – Inga Saffron of The Philadelphia Inquirer

11. Editorial Writing – Editorial Staff of The Oregonian, Portland

12. Editorial Cartooning – Kevin Siers of The Charlotte Observer

15. Breaking News Photography – Tyler Hicks of The New York Times

16. Feature Photography – Josh Haner of The New York Times


1. Fiction – “The Goldfinch,” by Donna Tartt (Little, Brown)

2. Drama – “The Flick,” by Annie Baker

3. History – “The Internal Enemy: Slavery and War in Virginia, 1772-1832,” by Alan

Taylor (W.W. Norton)

4. Biography – “Margaret Fuller: A New American Life,” by Megan Marshall (Houghton

Mifflin Harcourt)

5. Poetry – “3 Sections,” by Vijay Seshadri (Graywolf Press)

6. General Nonfiction – “Toms River: A Story of Science and Salvation,” by Dan Fagin (Bantam


C. MUSIC – “Become Ocean,” by John Luther Adams

There was no winner named in the feature writing category despite the three finalists Scott Farwell, Christopher Gifford and Mark Johnson. According to the New York Times, this “typically means that no finalist had been able to muster the mandatory majority of votes.” This is the second time that no winner was announced in such category, the first one being in 2004.

The winners were chosen from over 2,500 submitted entries, recommended by 102 distinguished jurors. The prizes will be awarded at a luncheon ceremony on May 28 at the Low Library of Columbia University.

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply