Caroline Garcia stuns Jelena Jankovic for first WTA title

Fitzgerald Cecilio – 4E Sports Reporter

Bogota, Colombia (4E Sports) – Caroline Garcia captured her first WTA title and her first top 10 win with a 6-3, 6-4 triumph over top seed and defending champion Jelena Jankovic Sunday at the Claro Open.

Jankovic broke in the first game of the match, but the No. 5 Garcia took over from there, breaking right back and never falling behind again, taking six of the next eight games to take the first set.

Then, Garcia broke early in the second set en route to a 3-1 lead. Jankovic caught up to 3-all but Garcia broke again and eventually served out the match, firing back-to-back aces to bring up match point before hitting a phenomenal forehand winner for the victory.

Going into the match, Garcia was 0-6 lifetime against Top 10 players.

Before winning her first WTA title, Garcia partnered with Lara Arruabarrena to bag the doubles title.

Garcia became the first player in nearly two years to pull off a singles-doubles sweep at a WTA-level event with Serena Williams being the last one at the Olympics.

Meanwhile, Alize Cornet edged first-time WTA finalist Camila Giorgi, 7-6(3), 5-7, 7-5 for the Katowice Open title.

At three hours and 11 minutes, it was the fifth-longest match of the year. The longest match of the year so far was Maria Sharapova’s three-hour, 28-minute victory over Karin Knapp at the Australian Open.

“What a match,” said Cornet, who won her fourth WTA title. “It was definitely a huge fight, which is what I expected, and I had to save a match point to win the title, so it feels very special. I gave everything I had.”

Cornet became just the second player this year to save match point en route to a WTA title, after Li Na, who saved a match point against Lucie Safarova en route to winning the Australian Open.

On the men’s side, Guillermo Garcia-Lopez defeated countryman Marcel Granollers, 5-7, 6-4, 6-3, for the Grand Prix Hassan II title.

Meanwhile, Fernando Verdasco downed Nicolas Almagro, 6-3, 7-6 (4), to win the US Men’s Clay Court Championship title in Houston, Texas.

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply