USBWA names award after former Penn State SID Mary Jo Haverbeck

The United States Basketball Writers Association (USBW) announced that a new award will join its lineup next season. The Mary Jo Haverbeck Award will be the women’s version of the Katha Quinn Award on the USBWA men’s side given to those who provide special service to USBWA or sportswriters – in this instance – covering women’s basketball. Haverbeck was a longtime Penn State sports information director in women’s basketball who died in January after a brief illness.

Women's gymnastics to compete in evening session at NCAA Championships
Lucas claims WBCA Honorable Mention All-America honors

Leave a Reply