Five Curwensville Wrestlers Seeded for 9-AA Tourney

CLARION — Five Curwensville Area High School wrestlers received seeds for the 2014 District 9 Class AA Tournament at the seedings and pairings meeting of coaches in Clarion High School Sunday afternoon.

Junior 138-pounder Jake Lancaster, who was the 126 champion last year, and sophomore 182-pounder Ben Junod were seeded fifth to rate the highest for the Golden Tide, which closes its regular season with a home make-up meet against Oswayo Valley Monday night.

Senior Tyler Mays and junior Jake Stiles were seeded seventh at 132 and 170, respectively, while sophomore Hunter Lancaster was seeded eighth at 152.

The tourney will get under way at noon Friday in Clarion University’s Waldo S. Tippin Gymnasium with the preliminary round followed by championship quarterfinals and two consolation rounds on three mats.

Action will resume Saturday morning at 9:30 with championship semifinals on two mats and consolation quarterfinals on the third mat. Consolation semifinals will be contested on three mats after the end of a Class AAA round of championship semifinals and consolation quarterfinals.

The evening session will begin at five o’clock with the consolation finals for both classes. The Parade of Champions is planned for approximately 6:30 with the championship matches to run concurrently on two mats.

Tickets are $5 for adults and $2 for students per session.

Class AA top seeds are Brookville’s Taylor Ortz (28-3) at 113, Dalton Zimmerman (18-7) at 132, Brock Zacherl (31-2) at 138, Zach Vroman (23-4) at 145 and Brodie Zacherl (28-3) at 152, Redbank Valley’s Willie Gruver (26-5) at 120, Cal Haines (24-3) at 220 and Ben Carrillo (23-2) at 285, Kane’s Cody Blankenship (24-1) at 126, Evan Delong (25-0) at 160 and Nate Moore (24-2) at 195, Brockway’s Ryan Carlson (20-6) at 106, Coudersport’s Kyle Bova (25-0) at 160 and Cranberry’s Zach Bruce (27-0) at 182.

Complete brackets can be found here courtest Bob Imhof and the Ridgway Wresting site:

First-round pairings for the Golden Tide wrestlers:

106 – Jeff Harvey (6-14) vs. No. 4 Joshua Hancock (22-5), Cranberry.
126 – Sam Bressler (9-3) vs. No. 5 Hunter Freer (19-13), Port Allegany.
132 – No. 7 Tyler Mays (14-11) vs. Austin Schreckengost (1-8), Redbank Valley.
138 – No. 5 Jake Lancaster (15-9) vs. Prince Brooks (10-13), Clarion.
145 – Jordan Peters (4-16) vs. No. 1 Zach Vroman (23-4), Brookville.
152 – No. 8 Hunter Lancaster (9-11) vs. Mason Wazelle (3-18), Johnsonburg.
160 – Dakota Royer (2-18) vs. No. 8 Evan Redding (13-13), Keystone.
170 – No. 7 Jake Stiles (10-15) vs. Tucker Britton (6-21), Cameron County.
182 – No. 5 Ben Junod (10-14) vs. Will Staub (2-17), Clarion.
195 – Tim Wriglesworth (1-6) vs. No. 7 Justus Burk (21-8), Cranberry.
220 – Remington McGarry (4-18) vs. No. 5 Austin Smoker (24-1), Cameron County.
285 – Seth Connors (4-17) vs. No. 2 Dylan Dinch (20-3), Smethport.

Winter Weather Advisory Remains in Effect
Clearfield Revitalization Corp. to Host Game Show Mania

Leave a Reply