Germany ousts five-time champion Spain in Davis Cup

Fitzgerald Cecilio – 4E Sports Reporter

Frankfurt, Germany (4E Sports) – Tommy Haas and Philipp Kohlschreiber prevailed over the partnership of Fernando Verdasco and David Marrero, 7-6, 6-7, 7-6, 6-3, as host Germany sent five-time champion Spain to an early exit in the Davis Cup World Group Saturday at Fraport Arena.

The win moved the Germans, who last won the title in 1993, to the quarterfinals for the first time since 2011 with a day to spare. They will next play France in April.

“There are a lot of tough nations but it’s great fun to be part of a team that’s so hungry and talented. For me time is running out so if there’s going to be a chance it’s possibly going to be this year. I will give everything to participate,” Haas said.

It was only in the morning when Haas found out that he would partner with Kohlschreiber rather than Daniel Brands.

“This was the first time Tommy and Phil played together. I talked to them about it in November but they were not sure. They hadn’t even practiced a set together but Tommy likes to be in these situations and also Philipp,” said team captain Carsten Arriens.

Spain, for its part, will have to wait until September before playing in a World Group play-off tie to stay among the elite. The Spaniards played without No. 1 Rafael Nadal and David Ferrer.

“It was little details again,” Spain captain Carlos Moya said. “This surface doesn’t forgive and we were punished for a few moments of doubt. The result doesn’t really show what happened out on the court.”

In the first two singles matches, Kohlschreiber downed Roberto Bautista Agut while Florian Mayer downed Feliciano Lopez.

France booked a spot in the quarterfinal after the tandem of Richard Gasquet and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga defeated the Australian pairing of Lleyton Hewitt and Chris Guccione, 5-7, 7-6(4), 6-2,7-5.

“We are not going to have a party,” said Gasquet. “But we are very happy and we want to go far in the draw, we feel as if we have a good chance”

In other World Group pairings, Czech Republic defeated Netherlands, 3-2, to advance against Japan, which prevailed over Canada, 4-1.

Switzerland edged Serbia, 3-2, to arrange a quarterfinal showdown with Kazakhstan, which defeated Belgium.

Italy advanced to the quarterfinal against the winner of the United States-Great Britain clash after beating Argentina, 3-1.

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply