Sportswriters name Auburn’s Gus Malzahn as Coach of the Year

Cesar Tordesillas – 4E Sports Contributor

Houston, TX, United States (4E Sports) – Auburn coach Gus Malzahn accepted the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association’s Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Award Wednesday in Houston.

He beat out Rice’s David Bailiff, Baylor’s Art Briles, Michigan State’s Mark Dantonio and Stanford’s David Shaw for the award.

It was Malzahn’s fifth national coach of the year award, having been previously named national coach of the year by Associated Press, Eddie Robinson coach of the year, Home Depot coach of the year and Liberty Mutual coach of the year.

The College Football Coach of the Year Award began in 1957 and was renamed in 1986 for legendary Alabama coach Paul Bryant who died of a heart attack in 1983.

Malzahn is the fourth Auburn coach to win the award named after Bryant, joining Terry Bowden (1993), Tommy Tuberville (2004) and Gene Chizik (2010).

Auburn (12-2) fell short of winning a national championship in Malzahn’s first season, losing 34-31 to Florida State Jan. 6.

But the school still tied the NCAA record for the biggest turnaround in college football history — 8.5 games — after finishing 3-9 in 2012.

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply