Arizona, Tampa to host 2016, 2017 FBS national title games

Fitzgerald Cecilio – 4E Sports Reporter

Indianapolis, IN, United States (4E Sports) – The Football Bowl Subdivision has selected Arizona and Tampa, Florida as host of college football’s 2016 and 2017 national championship games.

The University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, the site of the Fiesta Bowl and home of the Arizona Cardinals, was picked over three other venues for the Jan. 11, 2016, game.

The Raymond James Stadium in Tampa was selected over five other venues for the Jan. 9, 2017, game. Raymond James hosts the Outback Bowl each year and is home to the South Florida Bulls and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

The selection was based on the votes by commissioners of the 10 Football Bowl Subdivision conferences and Notre Dame athletic director Jack Swarbrick.

Earlier, the AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, was announced as the site of the title game in 2015, the first year the NCAA moves to the four-team College Football Playoff.

The Glendale/Phoenix area has hosted four BCS title games since 1998 while it will be first college football title game in Tampa, which has hosted four Super Bowls — two at Raymond James Stadium.

Tampa also will become the first city that does not hold one of the College Football Playoff’s six major bowls to host a national title game. Tampa finished as the runner-up to Arlington to host the first title game in the post-BCS era.

Glendale edged Jacksonville, Florida (EverBank Field), New Orleans (Mercedes-Benz Superdome) and Tampa for the 2016 game.

Tampa, for its part, beat out for the 2017 game San Francisco/Santa Clara (Levi’s Stadium), Jacksonville, Minneapolis (Vikings Stadium), San Antonio (Alamodome) and Miami (Sun Life Stadium).

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply