Tony LaRussa, Joe Torre, Bobby Cox elected to Hall of Fame

Fitzgerald Cecilio – 4E Sports Reporter

Lake Buena Vista, FL, United States (4E Sports) – Three of MLB’s winningest managers — Tony LaRussa, Joe Torre and Bobby Cox — were unanimously elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame by the Expansion Era Committee.

They will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on July 27 in Cooperstown, New York.

La Russa, who had 2,728 wins, won championships with Oakland in 1989 and St. Louis in 2006 and 2011.

Torre, who is one of five skippers to win at least four World Series titles, which he did with the Yankees in 1996 and 1998 to 2000. He has 2,326 wins under his belt.

Cox led Atlanta to the 1995 World Series title and 14 straight division titles. He has 2,504 victories as manager.

Only Connie Mack (3,731) and John McGraw (2,763) won more games than the three.

With the election of LaRussa, Torre and Cox, all 10 managers in the all-time winningest list are already in the Hall of Fame.

“I am thrilled that these great managers during my tenure as Commissioner will join the legends of our game in the halls of Cooperstown,” Commissioner Bud Selig said.

“In careers of consistent excellence and incredible longevity, Bobby, Tony and Joe all left indelible impacts on our national pastime. For decades, these three individuals not only led great ballclubs, but instilled in their teams a brand of class and professionalism that baseball fans admired. It is fitting that Bobby, Tony and Joe will share our game’s highest honor together,” he added.

The other candidates on the ballot were players Dave Concepcion, Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Dave Parker, Dan Quisenberry and Ted Simmons, manager Billy Martin; Marvin Miller, the first and highly influential executive director of the Major League Baseball Players Association, and iconic Yankees principal owner George Steinbrenner.

However, none of them received the requisite 75 percent, or 12 of 16, of the votes from the committee.

“Being inducted into the Hall of Fame is really somebody else’s opinion,” said Torre, who also managed the Mets, Braves, Cardinals and Dodgers during a 29-year career that began as a player-manager for the Mets in 1977.

The 16-member Expansion Era electorate consisted of Hall of Famers Rod Carew, Carlton Fisk, Whitey Herzog, Tommy Lasorda, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan, Phil Niekro, and Frank Robinson; Major League executives Paul Beeston of the Blue Jays, Dave Montgomery of the Phillies, Jerry Reinsdorf of the White Sox and Andy MacPhail, formerly of the Twins, Cubs and Orioles.

They were joined by historians Steve Hirdt of Elias Sports Bureau, Bruce Jenkins of the San Francisco Chronicle, Jack O’Connell, secretary-treasurer of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America, and Jim Reeves, recently retired from the Fort Worth Star-Telegram.

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply