Blueliner Geraldine Heaney inducted into Hockey Hall of Fame

Fitzgerald Cecilio – 4E Sports Reporter

Toronto, ON, Canada (4E Sports) – Long-time women’s hockey blueliner Geraldine Heaney will be inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame’s Class of 2013 together with four men on Nov. 11 in Toronto.

Heaney will be inducted together with NHL players Chris Chelios, Brendan Shanahan and Scott Niedermayer and NHL coach and general manager Fred Shero.

She is the third woman elected into the Hockey Hall of Fame, joining Cammi Granato and Angela James, who were part of the Class of 2010.

Heaney won the gold medal with Canada at the World Women’s Championship seven times in 1990, 1992, 1994, 1997, 1999, 2000 and 2001. She also won gold at the 2002 Olympics and silver at the 1998 Games.

Heaney, Granato and James were inducted into the International Ice Hockey Federation Hall of Fame in 2008.

“Going down to the Hall of Fame, you never saw females in there so you really didn’t think, ‘Could this ever happen?’” Heaney said.

“I’m so glad that it has, and I think that’s what has helped with continuing the growth of girls’ hockey. The number of girls playing now is unbelievable,” she added.

Niedermayer, Chelios, Shanahan and Heaney were voted as members of the Player Category. Shero, the two-time Stanley Cup-winning coach of the Philadelphia Flyers, goes in posthumously as a member of the Builder Category.

The voting was conducted by the Hall’s 18-member selection committee, which met in private Tuesday morning to select the Class of 2013.

Niedermayer and Chelios were in their first year of eligibility following their retirement after the 2009-10 season.

Shanahan was in his second year of eligibility after being passed over last year, when Joe Sakic, Mats Sundin, Adam Oates and Pavel Bure were inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply