Virginia Tech completes football coaching staff overhaul

Fitzgerald Cecilio – 4E Sports Reporter

Blacksburg, VA, United States (4E Sports) – For the first time since 2006, Virginia Tech underwent a major overhaul in its coaching staff, taking in three new coaches to boost its offense.

The Hokies have taken in Scot Loeffler as offensive coordinator/quarterbacks coach, Jeff Grimes as offensive line coach and Aaron Moorehead as wide receivers coach, replacing Mike O’Cain, Curt Newsome and Kevin Sherman.

The three, who have a combined record of two national titles, a Super Bowl championship, 11 BCS bowl game appearances, six conference titles and five NFL Playoff appearances either as player or coach, will be formally introduced at a news conference Friday.

Acccording to head coach Frank Beamer, Bryan Stinespring, Tech’s offensive coordinator since 2002, will now coach tight ends in the new setup and takes on the title of recruiting coordinator.

The hiring happened 21 days after the Hokies’ 13-10 Russell Athletic Bowl win over Rutgers. However, that win amplified the Hokies’ need to charge their offense.

The Hokies finished 81st nationally in total offense (376.7 ypg) and scoring (25.08 ppg), barely qualifying for a bowl game after finishing the regular season at 6-6.

Beamer eyed Stanford’s Pep Hamilton for the offensive coordinator’s job but the latter accepted the same role with the Indianapolis Colts recently.

The 38-year-old Loeffler is a former Auburn and Temple offensive coordinator who worked as a quarterbacks coach at Michigan and Florida and with the Detroit Lions. He tutored then-future NFL quarterbacks Tom Brady, Chad Henne and Tim Tebow earlier in his career.

Grimes, who worked with Loeffler at Auburn last year, spent the previous four years with Auburn, including the national championship season in 2010. He previously worked at Colorado, BYU, Arizona State and Boise State.

The 32-year-old Moorehead worked as offensive assistant at Stanford the past three years. The Colorado native played collegiately at Illinois and professionally for Indianapolis from 2003-07, winning a Super Bowl in 2006.

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply