Nine 49ers, eight Texans selected to Pro Bowl

Fitzgerald Cecilio – 4E Sports Reporter

New York, NY, United States (4E Sports) – Nine players from the San Francisco 49ers and eight from the Houston Texans have been selected to the Pro Bowl Wednesday as the rosters were revealed for the Jan. 27 game in Honolulu, a week before Super Bowl XLVII kicks off in New Orleans.

Defensive end Justin Smith leads the list of 49ers selected for the NFC squad, together with outside linebacker Aldon Smith, free safety Dashon Goldson, strong safety Donte Whitner and inside linebackers Patrick Willis and NaVorro Bowman.

San Francisco’s left tackle Joe Staley, guard Mike Iupati and running back Frank Gore were all named to the team.

The rosters for the Pro Bowl were formed from fan votes, coaches votes and players votes each comprising 1/3 of the process.

The Seattle Seahawks and the Chicago Bears have five representatives and the Minnesota Vikings have four while the New York Giants, Washington Redskins, Green Bay Packers and Atlanta Falcons have three players apiece.

The Dallas Cowboys and the New Orleans Saints have two each while the Arizona Cardinals, Detroit Lions and Tampa Bay Buccaneers have one apiece.

Aaron Rodgers of the Packers was selected as starting quarterback for the NFC team, edging Matt Ryan of the Falcons and rookie Robert Griffin III of the Redskins.

For the Texans, they will be represented in the AFC team by left tackle Duane Brown, running back Arian Foster, wide receiver Andre Johnson, cornerback Johnathan Joseph, center Chris Myers, quarterback Matt Schaub, guard Wade Smith and defensive end J.J. Watt.

The New England Patriots have seven players, led by quarterback Tom Brady, while the Ravens have six players on the AFC roster, including Jacoby Jones, Vonta Leach, Haloti Ngata, Ed Reed, Ray Rice and Marshal Yanda.

The Denver Broncos have five representatives, led by quarterback Peyton Manning, who was selected for a record 12th time. Like the Broncos, the Kansas City Chiefs also have five players in the lineup.

The Cincinnati Bengals, Cleveland Brown, Pittsburgh Steelers, Indianapolis Colts and the New York Jets have two representatives each.

Manning will be the starting quarterback for the AFC, beating Brady and Schaub of the Texans for the honor.

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply