Auckland, New Zealand (4E) – Facebook has taken flack in recent years because of user privacy. While the company has taken steps to address the problem, critics still point out that the largest social media website in the world still lacks the necessary security precautions to protect users.
Facebook recently introduced new security settings for its members starting in New Zealand. Every time users log into their accounts, privacy notifications will appear. The privacy notifications tell the users about the new features and ask which specific people they want to block.
According to The Next Web, “The menu bar itself is positioned in between the ‘home’ and ‘settings’ icon on Facebook’s top menu bar. It drops down to reveal a range of options that help show which data from the social network is shown publicly.”
Specific questions such as “Who can look me up?”, “How do I stop someone from bothering me?” and “Who can see my stuff?” greet the users upon login.
Based on the new settings experienced by users in New Zealand, Facebook is going into the specifics about every tiny detail users want to or not want to reveal to others.