Two NASA probes to crash into moon today

Raquel Erhard – Fourth Estate Cooperative Contributor

Washington, DC, United States (4E) – Two moon probes from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration are scheduled to smash into the edge of a lunar crater this Monday and viewers will be provided a glimpse of the occurrence.

The Gravity Recovery and Interior Laboratory probes, or the Grail spacecraft, known as Ebb and Flow, will crash intentionally at 5:28 p.m. EST (2228 GMT), ending their mission to create a comprehensive map of the moon’s gravitational field.

NASA officials said the coverage would be around 35 minutes and will feature interviews with Grail team members, however, the impact site will be in shadow during the crash, so the twin probes’ destruction would not be showed.

The event will be broadcasted on NASA TV and streamed live on its website at 5 p.m. EST (2200 GMT).

Launched in September 2011, the $496 million Grail mission entered the lunar orbit around three months later.

Ebb and Flow are being brought down in a controlled fashion because they are almost out of fuel.

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply