Jeff Tech Holds Honor Society Induction

In the first row, pictured, from left to right, are Breeanna Coder, Krista Fair, Hannah Rummel, Jessica Dickey and
Ashley Snyder. In the second row, pictured, from left to right, are Douglas Royer, Joseph Smith, Shawn Nelen and Derk Kaza. (Provided photo)

Jeff Tech held its annual National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) Induction ceremony at 7 p.m. Nov. 8 at the Jeff Tech cafeteria. 

A total of five new students were inducted: Breeanna Coder, Krista Fair, Hannah Rummel, Joseph Smith and Ashley Snyder. Four second year members – Jessica Dickey, Derk Kaza, Shawn Nelen, and Douglas Royer – were recognized for their outstanding achievements. 

Cindy Haines, owner of “A Style For You,” was the guest speaker for the evening.  She emphasized the importance of getting involved in community service and to include NTHS on their resume.

A candle ceremony was held for each inductee that included an official signing of the NTHS book.  At the conclusion of the program, students and parents were treated to appetizers and desserts prepared by the culinary program at Jeff Tech.

The purpose of the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) is to honor excellence in workforce education. At Jeff Tech, standards include maintaining an “A” average in the student’s Career and Technical Education program and at least a “B” average in all academic classes. To be considered for induction, a student must also pass an administrative review and be formally recommended by two Jeff Tech staff members.

Approximately 55 people attended the ceremony including parents of these students and other guests. Guests included Marsha Welsh, administrative director; John Kimmel, principal; Melissa Mowery, vocational supervisor; Sandra Craft, superintendent of the Brookville School and Dr. Fred Park and Dr. James Brown members of the Jeff Tech Joint Operating Committee. 

Other staff members attending the ceremony were Larry Galluzzi, culinary program instructor, Leslie Galluzzi, mathematics instructor, Charlene Thompson, mathematics instructor and Angela Dragich, mathematics instructor. 

The NTHS Advisors are Bonnie Skinner, cosmetology instructor, Thomas Tinker, drafting instructor and Rose Weaver, cooperative education instructor.

Commissioners Hear Tourism Report, Marketing Plan
PHOTO: MVCEF Awards Grant for Student Field Trips

Leave a Reply