Big East football to use 2-division format

Cesar Tordesillas – 4E Sports Contributor

New York, NY, United States (4E Sports) – Big East Conference football schools will be divided into western and eastern divisions for the 2013 and 2014 seasons.

Presidents of the Big East schools agreed on the configuration.

The western division will be composed of Boise State, Houston, Memphis, San Diego State, SMU and Temple, while the eastern division will consist of Central Florida, Cincinnati, UConn, Louisville, Rutgers and South Florida.

Also expected to be discussed is the league’s new schedule of five games against division opponents and three crossover games.

The home and away opponents for each school will be announced after the Big East athletic directors’ annual meeting in New York on Dec. 3.

“This aligment gives the conference and its fans the best of both worlds — national exposure that is a result of the Big East being in six of the top 10 media markets — with a schedule that focuses on spirited regional rivalries,” said Big East commissioner Mike Aresco.

The Big East championship game, starting in 2013, will played between the East and West champions at the homefield of one of participating teams.

Aresco noted that this alignment will likely be revisited after the 2014 season, when the U.S. Naval Academy and other schools join the conference.

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply